What Is Man That You Are Mindful Of Him?
2010-06-03

Father, I'm struggling today with self-esteem. Please remind me that my value is not tied in with what I do for a career. My value is first connected with the life of Jesus Christ. My life in Christ is the first thing that brings me value. The second thing is my relationships, both with my earthly family and my spiritual Family.

With all that in mind, I still pray that I would be connected with some manner of employment soon. Your will be done, not mine. Keep teaching me to trust in you.



Psalm 65:5-8

5 By awesome deeds you answer us with righteousness, O God of our salvation, the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas; 6 the one who by his strength established the mountains, being girded with might; 7 who stills the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves, the tumult of the peoples, 8 so that those who dwell at the ends of the earth are in awe at your signs. You make the going out of the morning and the evening to shout for joy.

I've been at the top of the Sears tower in Chicago. I saw the World Trade Center Towers in 2000 from I-95 on the way from Jersey to Connecticut.

But I've also seen the Grand Canyon. I stood as close as I dared to the edge (no railing at some points, by the way...) I've seen the Grand Tetons Mountain Range in Wyoming. And I've seen Yellowstone Park, the world's largest volcano (overdue for eruption).

The largest accomplishments of man pale in comparison to the works of God in nature. By his strength, he "established the mountains." His power is evident in nature. Yet, even with all of that power, God is "intimate as well as infinite." He who "established the mountains" also hears every whispered prayer.

That is a great comfort to me, especially when I'm feeling rather small and insignificant.



Jerry Bridges, in Holiness Day By Day, gives us three principles or practices to help us in knowing how to respond when we are wronged. "...a firm belief in the sovereignty of God; a diligent pursuit of brotherly love that covers a multitude of sins and does not keep a record of wrongs; and a humble realization that, in comparison to my brother's sin against me, I am the ten-thousand-talent debtor to God (Matthew 18:21-35)." Mr. Bridges writes that there are times when we must stand up for what is right and just, but we must be sure that we do not sin when we do so.


Father, I pray that I will never be angry with my brother or sister, especially without cause. And if there is ever anger, I pray that it is justified, and not simply caused by my pride getting hurt or offended. We must, as the Bride of Christ, do a better job of getting along and loving one another.

I thank you, Father, that you hear me. You, who made the mountains and carved out the Grand Canyon, see fit to listen to my feeble prayers, and read these lines that I type in this little box. It never ceases to amaze me that you even care. Just as the Psalmist said, "What is man that you are mindful of him?"

Father, my mind is scattered this morning. I'm not really feeling attentive. I've had to work harder than usual on this little devotion. I pray for more focus, and for assistance in knowing what I need to be doing. Thank you for your grace and mercy, Lord.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR PRESIDENT OBAMA AND HIS ADMINISTRATION

Attorney General Eric Holder announced the federal government has launched a criminal and civil investigation into
the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico and pledged a review that would be �meticulous and aggressive.�

A coalition of more than 30 organizations has urged the Federal Communications Commission to monitor �hate
speech� on talk radio and cable broadcast networks, stating the public cannot separate facts from bigotry.

Pray that all agencies of the federal government would be restrained by Constitutional limits.

I think this is a very important prayer point, especially in light of alleged "hate speech." Someone who disagrees with me is NOT engaging in "hate speech," but there are certain organizations that would have all of society banned from ever saying anything negative about them. This is a clear violation of the first amendment.



Marvel at our God, who built mountains and carved canyons and trenches in the oceans, yet cares enough to bend his ear to hear our pleas.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com