Cast Your Cares On Him
2010-06-04

I have to keep reminding myself it's Friday. I'm not taking Stephanie to school, and Christi is not at work. So my brain says, "It's Saturday!" NO, brain. It's not.

I'll be taking Christi to Baylor Surgicare in Grapevine in about a half hour. We're supposed to be there by 9am. The surgery is at 10am. How long will it take? Who knows? Maybe an hour? Possibly two? I don't remember how long the last one took. Just as reminder, it's an arthroscopic surgery, removing a meniscus tear and getting rid of some arthritis and a small cyst. Pretty minor stuff, but it should alleviate some pretty major pain.



Psalm 65:9-13

9 You visit the earth and water it; you greatly enrich it; the river of God is full of water; you provide their grain, for so you have prepared it. 10 You water its furrows abundantly, settling its ridges, softening it with showers, and blessing its growth. 11 You crown the year with your bounty; your wagon tracks overflow with abundance. 12 The pastures of the wilderness overflow, the hills gird themselves with joy, 13 the meadows clothe themselves with flocks, the valleys deck themselves with grain, they shout and sing together for joy.

There is a lot of rich imagery in this Psalm. A river full of water; God watering the furrows of a grain field, "softening it with showers;" wagon tracks overflowing with abundance; pastures overflowing; hills dancing for joy; meadows clothed with flocks; and valleys decked out in grain, shouting and singing for joy. Almost looks like a Terry Gilliam cartoon. Minus the inherent irreverence, of course...

What's the point of this imagery, though? It is to remind us that God provides for us. And there is no matter too trivial for him. As Don Wyrtzen writes, in A Musician Looks At the Psalms, "His concern for every minute detail of my work and existence prompts me to shout for joy!"

It's always good to remember that God cares. Especially in the darker times. But let's not forget when things are going great, either!



Psalm 55:16

But I call to God, and the LORD will save me.

I love it when my readings support each other. Matthew Henry Daily Readings says this:

"In every trial let us call upon the Lord, and he will save us. He shall hear us, and not blame us for coming too often; the oftener the more welcome."

Admit it. Haven't you felt like you were "bothering God" with your requests before? I know I have!

"David had thought all were against him; but now he sees there were many with him, more than he supposed; and the glory of this he gives to God, for it is he that raises us up friends, and makes them faithful to us. There are more true Christians, and believers have more real friends, than in their gloomy hours they suppose."

Oh, how I have found this to be true lately!!! The amount of support and encouragement I have received since I lost my job can only be attributed to the grace of God! There are many times I have been moved to tears by the love and support of friends that seemingly come out of nowhere! God raises up friends for us in the gloomiest times! And he even uses Facebook to do it!!

"The burden of afflictions is very heavy, especially when attended with the temptations of Satan; there is also the burden of sin and corruption. The only relief under it is, to look to Christ, who bore it. Whatever it is that you desire God should give you, leave it with him to give in his own way and time. Care is a burden, it makes the heart stoop. We must commit our ways and works to the Lord; let him do as seems good to him, and let us be satisfied. To cast our burden upon God is to rest upon his providence and promise. And if we do so, he will carry us in the arms of his power, as a nurse carries a child; and will strengthen our spirits by his Spirit, so that they shall sustain the trial."

And that is where I am right now. Casting my burden on the Lord, and leaving it with him "to give in his own way and time."



Father, I am in awe of you! Your care and grace in my life continues to amaze me. Let me never "expect it" or take it for granted. Right now, I have an image of me crawling up in your lap like a child does his father. Hold me in your arms for a while, Father, while I savor your love and grace. Let me know in my heart that your will will be done. Let me feel it in my inmost being that, in your time and in your way, my need will be met. I cast my care upon you. Let my heart not be "stooped" by the burden of my cares. I thank you that you concern yourself with the smallest of details in our lives. I am boggled that you have that ability, but I believe that you do.

Father, I pray now for the doctor's hand as he performs this surgery on Christi. Keep him steady, and make it 100% successful! Let her recovery be quick.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR OUR CONGRESSIONAL LEADERS

The House has extended unemployment insurance approximately three times this year, but discussions have begun on
how to wind down the benefit. Rep. Earl Pomeroy (North Dakota) said �this is not a new entitlement.�

Sen. John McCain (Arizona) suggested that President Obama helped set the stage for Monday�s attempt to break
Israel�s blockade of Gaza by not offering a more forceful defense of the U.S.�s Middle Eastern ally.

Pray for our leaders to be cautious with their words even as rhetoric heats up in the coming mid-term election cycle.



Give thanks to God for his care in your life. Lay your burden down at his feet. Cast your cares on him!

Grace and peace, friends!



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com