I Am Satisfied...Or Am I??
2010-06-02

Gah. What day is this?? Oh, yeah...it's Wednesday. It's bad enough that I'm not working right now, but then there was a holiday for everyone else on Monday, so today feels like Tuesday. And then Stephanie only has half days of school today and tomorrow, and then no school on Friday (because Christi's having surgery and she didn't have anything to do, anyway), so Friday will seem like Saturday, and I'll be confused all over again! Gah!!


Psalm 65:1-4

1 Praise is due to you, O God, in Zion, and to you shall vows be performed. 2 O you who hear prayer, to you shall all flesh come. 3 When iniquities prevail against me, you atone for our transgressions. 4 Blessed is the one you choose and bring near, to dwell in your courts! We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, the holiness of your temple!

I am one of those "blessed" who has been chosen to dwell in his courts! And I am, indeed, very blessed. But then what? "We shall be satisfied..." Am I satisfied? Am I satisfied with the goodness of God's house and the holiness of his temple? That's a good question and one worthy of further contemplation. We tend to be, well, less than satisfied with just about everything these days. Always looking for that next big thing. A better car. A bigger house. More money. Nothing wrong with more money...it can be used for some very good things. But just to have it for the sake of having it. We, in our entertainment-driven society, need to back off and learn contentment. Is it possible for us to simply be content with the goodness of God's house and the holiness of his temple? Praise is due him! So let's get on that.



Father, I will praise you daily, and, thereby, attempt to give you what is due you. I can never fulfill completely the glory that is due your name, but I can certainly do my duty in praising you.

I pray for help in being content with the "goodness of your house." I have so much "stuff!" And we have been blessed so much by you. Help us be content and satisfied in you.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR OUR CONGRESSIONAL LEADERS

House Financial Services Committee Chairman Barney Frank (Massachusetts) has named the House members to sit
on the Wall Street conference committee, whose report is due June 25.

Senate Judiciary Committee Ranking Member Jeff Sessions (Alabama) intends to slow Supreme Court nominee
Kagan�s confirmation hearings unless full access to her files during the Clinton Administration are delivered to them.

Pray for members of both Houses of Congress as they deliberate on these highly-impactful issues.

(Is "impactful" even a word??)



Let us all strive to be more satisfied with the goodness of God!

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com