Grace Like Manna
2010-05-24

It's rather strange being here this morning, not struggling to stay awake. My first Monday out of work. It's just weird. And I'm not complaining, really. Still waiting on a call from the UTA Library.

Yesterday's worship was pretty good, I think. The message was good, as we began a series that will probably last the summer as we "saunter through the Psalms." The pastor plans to solicite favorite Psalms from members during the series. I'm really looking forward to it, as the Psalms is a place in which I like to spend a lot of time.



Psalm 61:6-8

6 Prolong the life of the king; may his years endure to all generations! 7 May he be enthroned forever before God; appoint steadfast love and faithfulness to watch over him! 8 So will I ever sing praises to your name, as I perform my vows day after day.

Is David preoccupied with aging, here? Or is he, unbeknownst to him, prophetically praying for the eternal reign of Christ? Perhaps a little of both. I don't know how old David was when he wrote this Psalm. But we do know that Jesus Christ will be "enthroned forever before God," and Jesus Christ is a direct descendent of David.

I probably wouldn't be praying for my life to be prolonged beyond what my years should be. This life and I have a love/hate relationship going on. But one thing I do know. I will "ever sing praises" to the name of the Lord Most High. However long my days are, however many years I live, I will sing praises. As long as I have breath, I will praise him!



1 Corinthians 11:31

But if we judged ourselves truly, we would not be judged.

From Matthew Henry Daily Readings:

"We must judge ourselves, and judge of our own acts, but not make our word a law to everybody. We must not judge rashly, nor pass judgment upon our brother without any ground. we must not make the worst of people. Here is a just reproof to those who quarrel with their brethren for small faults, while they allow themselves in greater ones. We must not judge uncharitably, unmercifully, nor with a spirit of revenge, and a desire to do mischief...We must not judge the hearts of others, nor their intentions, for it is God's prerogative to try the heart, and we must not step into his throne; nor must we judge of their eternal state, nor call them hypocrites, reprobates, and castaways; that is stretching beyond our line; what have we to do, thus to judge another man's servant? Counsel him, and help him, but do not judge him. Some sins are as motes, while others are as beams; some as a gnat, others as a camel. Not that there is any sin little; if it be a mote, or splinter, it is in the eye; if a gnat it is in the throat; both are painful and dangerous, and we cannot be easy or well till they are got out. That which charity teaches us to call but a splinter in our brother's eye, true repentance and godly sorrow will teach us to call a beam in our own. It is as strange that a man can be in a sinful, miserable condition, and not be aware of it, as that a man should have a beam in his eye, and not consider it; but the god of this world blinds their minds. Here is a good rule for those who reprove: first reform yourself." (From Matthew Henry's commentary on Matthew 7:1-6)



From Holiness Day By Day, by Jerry Bridges, comes a brief lesson on grace, taken from the Old Testament instructions about gathering manna. When Israel was wandering about in the desert, they were given manna every morning, for their food. They were to gather only as much as they needed. If they tried to store any until the next day (except when the next day was the Sabbath), they found that it rotted over night.

God's grace is like manna. He gives us just enough for each day. We can't store any up for tomorrow. In fact, to even try that would be silly. Why? Because God has an infinite supply of grace. He will never run out.

So take what you need. You can't empty the stock. Let God's grace sustain you every day.



Father, I thank you for your grace. I thank you that there is enough for me to live this day. And that there will be enough for me to live tomorrow, should tomorrow come for me. I understand (a little bit) the nature of this grace, that I can't "save it up" for another day. But there's no need, because you aren't going to run out, nor will you withhold it from me.

Let me never be guilty of juding another's heart or motive, Father. That's your area. I don't presume to cross over that line. I know I have been guilty in the past of doing so. I pray that I will not do so again. If it becomes necessary to reprove another for their actions, let me judge their actions ONLY. And let me make sure that I am clean before you before I do so. Keep me aware of any beams in my eyes or camels that I have swallowed.

Lord, my life has been a good life. I have no desire to prolong it beyond what you have decreed. However, I pray that what remains will be filled with singing and praise of you and your words. My your gospel of peace fill up my days as I live them out. And may I be at peace with all my brothers and sisters for the rest of my days.



Judging is tough. It is a hard thing NOT to do. We look at people and we presume to know their motives. We can only judge actions. Is something right or wrong? And sometimes, we can't even properly judge that, because there is not a clear standard. If it is not illegal or expressly forbidden by God, we should probably lay off. As Matthew Henry said, we should not "make our word a law to everybody."

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com