I Will Not Be Greatly Shaken
2010-05-25

Father, I am very thankful today that my parents have been married for 53 years. You blessed me with a very Godly mother and father, and they have been excellent examples to me my whole life, as well as for Christi and me in our marriage. May your blessings be on them today as they celebrate!


Psalm 62:1-4

1 For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation. 2 He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken. 3 How long will all of you attack a man to batter him, like a leaning wall, a tottering fence? 4 They only plan to thrust him down from his high position. They take pleasure in falsehood. They bless with their mouths, but inwardly they curse. Selah

David has learned how to be still when he is under stress. He has learned to rest in the Lord.

"The psalmist's calm security and implacable stability come from God. David perceives his Lord as his Rock, his Salvation, his impregnable Fortress. Therefore, he cannot be moved or distracted by the taunts of the wicked."

"Unbelievable strength is drawn...in rest - waiting in silence which implies utter trust that the rope will hold, the fortress will stand, the walls won't cave in."
(Quotes from A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)

Notice that in verse 2, David says, "I will not be greatly shaken." David makes no claim that he will not be shaken, but that he will not be greatly shaken. I will be shaken by circumstances. But I will not be shaken to the point of falling. I will never be "greatly shaken." For God is my rock and my fortress!



In today's Tabletalk Magazine reading, the section called "Coram Deo" (Living before the face of God) has this to say: "God's prophetic word to Israel is a word for us this day: 'I will restore to you the years that the swarming locust has eaten' (Joel 2:25). Even if we feel like we have fallen too far for the Lord's mercy to reach us, let us understand that God never ignores true contrition and that He will often bless us with even more than forgiveness if we turn from our sin back to Him. May we never be hesitant to repent when we have been convicted of our transgressions."


Father, I thank you for the gift of repentance, for it is truly a gift from you. I would never repent on my own. I pray that the Holy Spirit will always convict me when I need to repent of sin, and that I will not hesitate to do so when convicted. I glory in your forgiveness, for there is nothing more freeing in our lives than the forgiveness that comes from you.

Thank you for being my Rock and my Fortress. I praise you that, because you are my Rock and Fortress, I will not ever be "greatly shaken." Trials will come. Circumstances will come that seem desperate. But you will never let me fall. Your hand will always be holding mine, and you will never let me go. Hallelujah, my God!



No matter what happens in your life, if you are in Christ, God is your Rock. He is your Fortress, and you cannot be "greatly shaken." Praise him for that today!

Grace and peace, friends.



2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com