Strong Tower
2010-05-23

We had a really nice visit with my parents yesterday (it was to celebrate Mother's Day). Didn't do much else, except go to Office Depot for printer ink and Half Price books to spend a gift card that I either got for Christmas or my birthday...we couldn't remember. Got a pretty big haul.


Father, I'm looking forward to worship this morning. First, because I get to praise you with the Family. Second, because I get to fellowship with the Family. I always look forward to being with your other children. I thank you for what you taught me yesterday about being at peace. I also thank you for testing me on that last night.


Psalm 61:3-5

3 for you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy. 4 Let me dwell in your tent forever! Let me take refuge under the shelter of your wings! Selah 5 For you, O God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.

I love these passages in the Psalms that refer to God as "refuge" and "strong tower." Both the Newsboys and Kutless have penned songs (I'm sure there are others, too), called "Strong Tower." I love both of them. I take refuge in the "strong tower" that is my God. Like David, I desire to dwell in his tent forever. Why? For me, the main reason is eternal safety. The tent of God is a safe place. Anything that is called a "refuge" is safe. We can dwell there forever, and never have to worry.

We also have the same "heritage" as David. We are related to David because we are brothers and sisters of Christ, who is David's descendant. You and I are part of David's "heritage of those who fear your name."



John 1:1-5

1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made. 4 In him was life, and the life was the light of men. 5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

From Matthew Henry Daily Readings

"The plainest reason why the Son of God is called the Word seems to be that as our words explain our minds to others so was the Son of God sent in order to reveal his Father's mind to the world. What the evangelist says of Christ proves that he is God. He asserts his existence in the beginning and his coexistence with the Father. The Word was with God. All things were made by him, and not as an instrument. Without him was not anything made that was made, from the highest angel to the meanest worm. This shows how well qualified he was for the work of our redemption and salvation. The light of reason, as well as the life of sense is derived from him, and depends upon him. This eternal Word, this true Light shines, but the darkness comprehends it not. Let us pray without ceasing, that our eyes may be opened to behold this Light that we may walk in it; and thus be made wise unto salvation, by faith in Jesus Christ."

Very deep stuff. And worth pondering.



Psalm 62:8

8 Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Selah

From Holiness Day By Day, by Jerry Bridges:

"It's difficult to believe God is in control when we're in the midst of heartache or grief."

"It's not a matter of my feelings but of my will. I never feel like trusting God when adversity strikes, but I can choose to do so anyway. That act of the will must be based on belief, and belief must be based on the truth that God is sovereign. He carries out His own good purposes without ever being thwarted, and nothing is outside of His sovereign will."

I don't know if I could say that I NEVER feel like trusting God in adversity, but I certainly agree with the premise he is putting down here. I definitely believe that God carries out his will and is never thwarted.

"I'll say this as gently and compassionately as I know how: Our first priority in adversity is to honor and glorify God by trusting Him. Gaining relief from our feelings of heartache or disappointment or frustration is a natural desire, and God has promised to give us grace sufficient for our trials and peace for our anxieties (2 Corinthians 12:9; Philippians 4:6-7). But just as God's will is to take precedence over our will ("Yet not as I will, but as you will" - Matthew 26:39), so God's honor is to take precedence over our feelings. We honor God by choosing to trust Him when we don't understand what He is doing or why He has allowed some adverse circumstance to occur."

Do you get what Mr. Bridges is saying here? When we are in the midst of adverse circumstances, our priority should be, MUST be, the honoring and glorfying of our heavenly Father. We must place that before our feelings and anxieties. Remember what Jesus said in Matthew 6. "But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you." "All these things" includes your anxieties and the resolution of your circumstances. God's glory and honor must come first.



Father, may we always honor you first. In the midst of adversity, may we seek to honor and glorify you first. As the popular website says, "I am second." Well, there were others in history who went further than that and stated "I am THIRD." But the idea is the same. We must put you first. Others and self come after. Let us have faith that you are in control and that you will do what is just and good on our behalf.

I thank you for the truth that your Son is the Light and the source of all life for us. Let our eyes be opened, as Mr. Henry said, to this truth that we may walk in it. Jesus, you are the Light of the world. Let us walk in your light as we traverse this world. We know the darkness does not recognize your light. But we do.

Father, I will always praise you for being my refuge and my strong tower. I bless your holy name, and I will run to you, my strong tower, and I will desire to dwell in your tent forever. You are safe, and I will be safe within you forever.

Hallelujah.



Honor God first. Look to him first in adversity. He will take care of you. You can count on that.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com