Who Do We Trust?
2010-04-25

Lord, I'm grateful for a great day yesterday, lunch with Rachel and Justin, and fun times with Stephanie at the baseball game last night (even though our team didn't win). But the winning losing isn't as important as the family times. It was a beautiful day yesterday after the morning storms.

Mentally and spiritually, I'm feeling okay today. I'm still kind of hazy in my head, though. Some people might be panicking in my situation, but I'm not. I guess it's because I know you, and I believe and trust in you and your provision for us.



Psalm 49:1-2, 5-6, 10, 12

1 Hear this, all peoples! Give ear, all inhabitants of the world, 2 both low and high, rich and poor together!

5 Why should I fear in times of trouble, when the iniquity of those who cheat me surrounds me, 6 those who trust in their wealth and boast of the abundance of their riches?

10 For he sees that even the wise die; the fool and the stupid alike must perish and leave their wealth to others.

12 Man in his pomp will not remain; he is like the beasts that perish.

Wow. What an appropriate set of Scriptures for my current situation. Perspective is everything, isn't it? In a day when we are surrounded by "Christians" who proclaim health and wealth, the "sons of Korah" give us this Psalm! The wise, the foolish, and the stupid (I'm amused that there is a differentiation between the foolish and the stupid)...they all die the same. And someone else gets their money.

All throughout Scriptures we are admonished not to trust in wealth. Those who trust in riches are even called cheaters in this Psalm. People who put their faith in the dollar are constantly scheming ways to get more and to take advantage of gullible people.

Words from Don Wyrtzen in A Musician Looks At the Psalms: "The psalmist...shoots down the theory that the acquisition of wealth guarantees happiness and immortality." In the verses in between our passage today, it is stated that life is so valuable that no amount of money can buy it. No riches can hold off death. "In the end all men, whatever their station, die and leave their accumulation of possessions behind."

The true source of life and happiness is not $$$. It is our Father. And he gives life through Jesus Christ.

The main message to me, though, after all that, is found in verse 5: "Why should I fear in times of trouble?" Why, indeed?



Matthew 2:13

Now when they had departed, behold an angel of the Lord appeared to Joseph in a dream and said, "Rise, take the child and his mother, and flee to Egypt, and remain there until I tell you, for Herod is about to search for the child, to destroy him."

In a reading entitled "Transforming Circumstances," Matthew Henry says this:
"Egypt had been a house of bondage to Israel and particularly cruel to the infants of Israel; yet it is be a place of refuge to the holy Child Jesus. God, when he pleases, can make the worst of places serve the best of purposes. This was a trial of the faith of Joseph and Mary. God intimates the continuance of his care and guidance, when he says, 'Rise, take the child and his mother, and flee to Egypt, and remain there until I tell you,' so that he must expect to hear from God again, and not stir without fresh orders. Thus God will keep his people still in a dependence upon him."

Frankly, I'm not sure I like what this is telling me. Nevertheless, I will try to focus on the part that tells me that no matter how bad the circumstances seem, God can change them to something good. It's that part about staying in Egypt until he tells them to leave that has me just a bit worried...Heheh...



Matthew 14:14

When he went ashore he saw a great crowd, and he had compassion on them and healed their sick.

"He," of course, being Jesus.

John MacArthur has this to say, in Daily Readings from the Life of Christ:

"In His divine mercy, Jesus had compassion even on many shallow, self-centered thrill seekers in the crowds following Him. This displayed God's loving heart toward people who would not understand of believe the gospel, and would thus ultimately reject Him.

"Jesus' compassion also derived from His perfect perspective of hell and the terrible consequences He foresaw for those who would not trust Him for salvation. As much as our Lord wanted to heal people's sick and injured bodies, He was infinitely more concerned about their sin-plagued souls. Physical bodies can become sick or injured again, but once Christ redeems a fallen soul it forever remains whole and free from sin's domination."

Folks, this is staggering to me. There is something very important to learn here. The fact that Jesus had compassion on even those people he knew would not accept him...that speaks volumes of the love of God. How often have I held those who I perceive to be "shallow, self-centered thrill seekers" in contempt? I find myself suddenly dealing with feelings of guilt and remorse, and repenting of a bad attitude. God does see the heart, that is true. However, he is the ONLY one who can truly see the heart. I can't. You can't. And all the perception that we think we have is tainted by any preconceived notions that we already have about the people. (There are some who are gifted with "discernment" from the Holy Spirit...I'm not referring to that at the moment.) I really have to seek God's face in this matter.



Father, I fall down before you this morning, repenting of feelings that I have had toward people that you have compassion toward. If you, O Lord, have compassion on a person, I have no right to regard that one with contempt. I pray for an adjustment of that attitude, and I pray for forgiveness for feeling that way.

I thank you that you have the ability to transform circumstances that may have been negative or threatening at one time into positive, nurturing circumstances. We have long held Romans 8:28 as a favorite verse. I don't know a believer anywhere who doesn't know that verse. The truth of it is evident in the verses I read elsewhere today. You do work all things for good. You took Egypt, a place that tortured Israel, and made it a refuge for our Savior. You can take our "bad" places and make them "good."

Help me to never be one who overly trusts in wealth. Sure, we need money to get by in this world. But that's all we need it for. We don't need it for security. You are our security. We don't need it for our future. Heaven is our future and the streets appear to be made out of the most precious metal on earth. I find that to be very ironic...that we will be treading with our feet on that which modern man holds in highest regard. Help us to see the truth in that fact regarding wealth and money.

You are our great provider, Father. Let us never forget that.



I'm grateful to all my friends for the words of encouragement, the prayers, and the positive thoughts that have been sent my way in the last couple of days. I cannot even begin to express it...love to all of you!

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com