Shhhhh...He's Talking To You
2010-04-26

Whooee...what a flood of emotions. I just read the diary entry of a d-land friend, whose grandpa passed away. It made me remember my grandparents, who have all gone "home." I miss them, but it's better for them, of course.

Lord, the way you have spoken to me in the past couple of days has been remarkable. Awesomely amazing, in fact. The devotions I had yesterday morning, the Bible study lesson before worship (Matthew 6), and our pastor's message yesterday on "Peace." I hear you telling me, "Don't worry. I've got this." And I do hear you. I'm actually excited to see what you have planned for me.



Matthew 2:3-4

3 When Herod the king heard this, he was troubled, and all Jerusalem with him; 4 and assembling all the chief priests and scribes of the people, he inquired of them where the Christ was to be born.

The "this" referred to occurs in verse 2, when the wise men ask where the "king of the Jews" is to be born, and say that the have come to worship him. Herod didn't like that so much. He's the king, he's the only one who should be being worshipped. And if the king is troubled, the whole city is troubled.

Matthew Henry write this concerning the birth of Jesus:

"It was a mark of humiliation put upon the Lord Jesus that he was the Desire of all nations and yet his coming into the world was little observed and taken notice of. His birth was obscure and disregarded: herein he emptied himself, and made himself of no reputation. If the Son of God must be brought into the world, one might justly expect that he should be received with all the ceremony possible, that crowns and scepters should immediately have been laid at his feet, and that the high and mighty princes of the world should have been his humble servants...Those who live at the greatest distance from the means of grace often use most diligence and learn to know the most of Christ and his salvation. But no curious arts, or mere human learning, can direct men unto him. We must learn of Christ by attending to the word of God, as a light that shines in a dark place, and by seeking the teaching of the Holy Spirit."



Father I thank you for our Savior, and acknowledge that he was brought in to this world in the most humble of circumstances. We may never understand why you chose to bring a Savior into the world in this way. But we also know that it is in basically the same way that we receive him. We don't learn about Jesus through pomp and flashy ceremonies. We learn through the simplest of means...the personal tesimony of other believers and the quiet word of the Holy Spirit in our hearts. I pray that we will all be able to hear the Spirit's whisper and respond to it when called upon.


Elsewhere in Scripture, we are told to "be still and know that I am God." This doesn't mean that we are never to take any action. However, I believe it means that we are not going to find God by just being busy. Sometimes, we have to sit still. And wait. Remember...Elijah waited 40 days and nights in a cave for that "still, small voice."

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com