Pride and Sovereignty
2010-04-24

Lord, there are so many things going through my head right now that I'm having a really hard time focusing on any one of them. I need to make a resume. I need to search for jobs. I need to get my service ready for worship tomorrow. I need to make the Powerpoint slides for the worship service. I need...I need....HELP!!

*breathe*

"This is the air I breathe...
this is the air I breathe...
Your holy presence,
Living in me..."

Ok...that's better.



Mark 7:21-23

21 For from within, out of the heart of man, come evil thoughts, sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery, 22 coveting, wickedness, deceit, sensuality, envy, slander, pride, foolishness. 23 All these evil things come from within, and they defile a person.

These are the words of Jesus in explanation of what he previously said about people not being defiled by things that go in their bodies through the mouth. In other words, foods can't make us clean or unclean, rather it is things that come from within.

Matthew Henry centers in on the "pride" part of Jesus's talk in a passage from his commentary on Romans 12:3-8.

"Pride is a sin in us by nature; we need to be cautioned and armed against it. All the saints make up one body in Christ, who is the Head of the body, and the common Centre of their unity. In the spiritual body, some are fitted for and called to one sort of work; others for another sort of work. We are to do all the good we can, one to another, and for the common benefit. If we duly thought about the powers we have, and how far we fail properly to improve them, it would humble us. But as we must not be proud of our talents, so we must take heed lets, under pretense of humility and self-denial, we are slothful in laying out ourselves for the good of others. We must not say, 'I am nothing, therefore I will sit still, and do nothing;' but, 'I am nothing in myself, and therefore I will lay out myself to the utmost, in the strength of the grace of Christ.' Whatever our gifts or situations may be, let us try to employ ourselves humbly, diligently, cheerfully, and in simplicity; not seeking our own credit or profit, but the good of many, for this world and that which is to come. We must, therefore, have a sober opinion of ourselves. Pride is a sin that is bred in the bone of all of us, and we have therefore each of us need to be cautioned and armed against it."

I have to say, this is the first time that I can remember hearing the sin of pride being an explanation for NOT using our gifts. But it makes sense. It's kind of a "reverse pride." If I think my gift is not worthy, or if I'm not good enough at it, then I might just not do anything, rather than using what God has given me to the best of my ability. I really like the line that says we need to "employ ourselves humbly, diligently, cheerfully, and in simplicity." I need to work on all of those qualities.



Daniel 4:35

All the inhabitants of the earth are accounted as nothing, and he does according to his will among the hosts of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth; and none can stay his hand or say to him, "What have you done?"

That is most definitely a terrifying verse! We are "accounted as nothing" before God. He "does according to his will," and no one can even challenge it. We do, though, don't we. We get very, very bold (or stupid) and shake our fists at God and say, "Why did you *insert complaint here*?? That's not fair!!"

Hmmm...

"God does as He pleases, only as He pleases." Everything he does is designed to bring about his will. And it would, indeed, be terrifying if that were all we knew about God. "But God is not only sovereign; He is perfect in love and infinite in wisdom. God exercises His sovereignty for His glory and the good of His people."

These are not merely abstract statements. God really does have a plan for us, and has the power to carry it out. "It's one thing to know that no person or circumstance can touch us outside of God's sovereign control; it's still another to realize that no person or circumstances can frustrate God's purpose for our lives." Did you get that? That means (at least the way I'm reading it) that not even I can frustrate God's plan for my life!! That is a marvelous revelation!

God will fulfill his purpose for me. In fact, that is what Psalm 138:8 says. "The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me." "Because we know God is directing our lives to an ultimate end and because we know He is sovereignly able to orchestrate the events of our lives toward that end, we can trust Him. We can commit to Him not only the ultimate outcome of our lives, but all the intermediate events and circumstances that will bring us to that outcome."

And that is very good news, indeed.

(Quotes, except for the Scripture verse, taken from Holiness Day By Day, p. 226, by Jerry Bridges)



Father, I thank you that you are trustworthy. I praise you for your consistency, especially when I think about how inconsistent we are. Our love is fickle, at best. Your love is never-ending and unconditional. We dispense love based on performance. You give love based on your grace and mercy, which are perfect.

I thank you that you have an ultimate plan for me and that not even I can frustrate that plan. Help me to stay with it, though. It would be easier if I went along with it willingly, wouldn't it? Right now, especially, I am somewhat excited to see what that plan holds for my near future. I admit I am teetering on the edge of despair and hopelessness, but your grace is keeping me from falling over that edge. I know you have a plan for me. I pray for the tenacity to follow that plan on a daily basis. Well, follow it as best I can, since I don't really know what it is at the moment...

I pray that I will not be guilty of the sin of pride. I desire to use the talents you have given me for your glory. I pray that "reverse pride" will not keep me from using my gifts. Let me have the confidence I need, but also keep that confidence from turning into sinful pride. Let my pride be in you and you alone!

I thank you, God, for Christi!! She is being so supportive right now and even helping me get things together. She has already found dozens of job links for me to look at. She has started my resume and sent it to me to look at and insert details. I am so blessed to have her as my wife and partner in life. Thank you so much, Father!!



It's going to be a great day. I can feel it.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com