God: Big--Problem:Small
2010-03-17

Lord, it's been a few days, and I'm sorry about that. I could use excuses like it being spring break and I get to sleep later and stuff, but, in reality, there's no excuse. You make time for the things that are important to you. So there must have been other things more important to me than you for the last couple of days. Forgive me for that.

I'm not sold out. I don't feel like you're "number one" in my life. I need to fix that. I love you, Father, I really do. I just keep putting the "stuff of earth" in front of you. I'm so sorry for that. I'm grateful that you will never forsake me, though. I know I can count on you, even when you can't count on me.



Psalm 35:24, 27-28

24 Vindicate me, O LORD, my God, according to your righteousness, and let them not rejoice over me!

27 Let those who delight in my righteousness shout for joy and be glad and say evermore, "Great is the LORD, who delights in the welfare of his servant!"
28 Then my tongue shall tell of your righteousness and of your praise all the day long.

The first thing I notice in this is that David asks for vindication, not according to HIS righteousness, but according to God's righteousness! David knows that he has no righteousness of his own, apart from God.

Personally, I don't need vindication so much as I need to know his power. And I need for him to be glorified in my life, but it all still needs to be according to HIS righteousness, which is the righteousness of Christ. That is the only form of righteousness that I possess.

At the end of the Psalm, David still concentrates on worship instead of his own condition. First, he calls for others to worship the Father, then he declares that he will worship God, too, "all the day long." Our lives should be lives of worship. We should worship God "all the day long," every day. Not just for a couple of hours on Sunday morning. And that's the challenge, isn't it? It's easy to worship God on Sunday morning, when we gather with other believers, because that's the main purpose for our gathering. But it's a challenge the rest of the week, when the noise of the world forces its way into our heads.

So I'm challenging myself, for the next few days, to think about worship more often, and to be in an attitude of worship "all the day long." This doesn't mean I go around with a wistful, serene expression on my face with my hands lifted up all day. I might, you know, get in a wreck if I do that while trying to drive...That's not what worship is, anyway. Those are only outward expressions of something that is happening in my heart. And that something that's happening in my heart can go on 24/7, if I train my heart to do so.

One quote from A Musician Looks At the Psalms: "After praise and worship, David had a small problem and a big concept of God, instead of a big problem and a samll concept of God."

Amen to that!



There's an interesting take on the sin of Achan from Joshua 7 in today's Tabletalk Magazine reading. When all of Israel was confronted with the fact that someone had disobeyed God by keeping things that were to have been destroyed, Achan did not come forward. He did not repent and confess. Instead, he waited until God identified him out of the crowd. Then, and only then, did he "repent." This was not true repentance. Confession after being caught is not confession. "God always forgives the penitent, but the absence of true repentance will ultimately bring condemnation." Achan and his family were destroyed for his sin.


Father, it is by your righteousness and yours, alone, that I am able to even breathe today. The fact that I can lift up songs of praise to you can only be attributed to your great grace and mercy. I praise you for these! Your righteousness has placed within me the desire to worship you, and the desire to serve you.

The only thing standing in my way is the flesh. I pray for more ability to put aside the flesh each day, Father, so that I might serve you more. My daily worship of you is lacking. As I said earlier in this entry, I have put other things in front of you. This is sin, for which I desperately repent. I need you to be first. I need to have my eyes fixed on you daily. Increase my love for you, Father. Let me praise and worship you in the face of trials in my life, so that, when I am done, they are small and you are big! Never let my problems appear to be bigger than you, for, in reality, they never are. Nothing is bigger than you.

When I need to repent, Lord, give me grace to do so immediately, and not wait to be called out. And let me never be like Achan, whose "partial" obedience was not obedience at all. Partial obedience is still disobedience.

Lord, I feel so restless right now, and I feel lost in my world. My job situation is tentative, at best, our nation's economy seems to be beyond recovery...please help me to find comfort and strength in you, my strong tower. I have wandered too long outside your tower. Let me take up residence in the fortress that is your love and grace and mercy.



God is good, all the time. I know...that's become kind of cliche, but it is, nevertheless, true. His mercy is never ceasing and his goodness and mercy will follow us all the days of our lives. Let us never forget that, and let us make our dwelling in the strong tower that is our God!

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com