Vindication
2010-03-14

Father, I am grateful for a wonderful day yesterday. Actually, starting Friday night, with the dinner with my in-laws. It's been a great weekend, celebrating my birthday. I pray that this will carry on into the week as work starts up again tonight. I'm also grateful for the break from taking Steph to school, since it's spring break this week. That will give us a little time to "regroup," I guess.


Father, I pray this morning for our President and our Congress. I pray that they will have your wisdom as they continue to work out what needs to be done for the healthcare and economic crises that our nation is experiencing.


Psalm 34:19-22

19 Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the LORD delivers him out of them all.
20 He keeps all his bones; not one of them is broken.
21 Affliction will slay the wicked, and those who hate the righteous will be condemned.
22 The LORD redeems the life of his servants; none of those who take refuge in him will be condemned.

These are such truly marvelous words! Again, we have promise that God will deliver us from our troubles and afflictions. But NOT promise that we won't have any. I'm sure that many of us are wondering exactly when verse 21 will come true. How many of us are eager to see those who "hate the righteous" condemned? We want justice. We want retribution. But we understand that the Lord sets aside revenge for himself. He will avenge the persecuted. As for when? Well, that's up to him, isn't it? And that leaves it to us to be patient and faithful. We have the promise of verse 22 that we will be redeemed and not condemned.

The author of A Musician Looks At the Psalms makes this final comment about Psalm 34, which he says gives "six specific steps toward personal fulfillment." "I am to extol the Lord; seek the Lord; taste the goodness of the Lord; fear the Lord; cry out to the Lord, and find safety in the Lord. The key is in the object - the Lord! Faith in any person other than the Lord is foolishness."

Amen.



Matthew 10:26-27

26 "So have no fear of them, for nothing is covered that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known. 27 What I tell you in the dark, say in the light, and what you hear whispered, proclaim on the housetops."

In these words of Jesus, he is, essentially, telling us that it doesn't matter what the world says about us. What matters, in the end, is what God says about us. John MacArthur, in Daily Readings From the Life of Christ, states that this passage is primarily speaking of believers' vindication. "God will show the world's unrighteousness for what it is, and the believer's righteousness for what it truly is. Therefore it is sinful to cover up His light now in order to avoid persecution or criticism. God has promised to vindicate His children."

Although it is difficult, sometimes, we need to be prepared to proclaim the truth of the gospel, even if it means we might be persecuted for it. We should not shy away from that. Of course, we shouldn't really go looking for persecution, either. I would question the mental stability of anyone who does that. God never tells us to go looking for trouble.

I'm also not always so eager for those hidden things to be shouted from the housetops, either. There are things in my past that I don't want anyone to know about. I'm sure I'm not alone in that, either. But I believe, along with MacArthur, that this passage is mainly referring to the wickedness of the world in reference to the vindication of believers. Jesus has been giving his disciples instructions on how to succeed in ministry as they travel from place to place. So, contextually, that makes sense.



Father, I thank you, once again, for the promise of deliverance from affliction and trouble. I especially take comfort when I read these passages and think about our struggles with Stephanie's condition. Someday, we will be delivered, and so will she. I believe that with all my heart. I don't know when, but I will hold onto the truth of Scripture promises. We also look forward to the day when we will be vindicated and we will see the revenge on those who literally hate believers in Jesus Christ. I feel no remorse for wanted to see that revenge, because I believe with all my heart that those who hate believers, should they continue in that condition until the end of days, were never part of your elect to begin with. We shall know them by their fruit. That is not to say that I would not delight to see the salvation of anyone who currently acts as though they hate believers. I pray for that, as well. I know you understand what I mean, Lord. So I'll stop trying to explain.

Thank you for your grace and mercy. I pray for a good week for Stephanie at home during spring break. I pray that Christi and I will have good weeks at work with a minimum of problems. Let us both look to you for wisdom throughout the week.



Trust in the Lord, for he will provide ultimate vindication for all of us. That is a promise we can bank on. God will do what he says he will do.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com