I Am Loved
2010-03-18

Lord, I want to thank you for last night. You really proved your faithfulness (as if it needed proving?) to me throughout the night. I confess. I was worried. My best friend and work partner was taking the night off, and I was worried about how things would go. I'm so pessimistic! I feel foolish for worrying. At the end of the morning, I was so relieved, I was almost in tears...but they were tears of joy as I realized, once again, that there is never any need for me to worry. Worry is sin. Forgive me, Father.


Psalm 36:1

Transgression speaks to the wicked deep in his heart; there is no fear of God before his eyes.

Here, David describes the wicked as having no fear of God. This is constantly contrasted throughout the Psalms with the righteous, who fear God and recognize their sin.

We are partakers of God's grace and mercy. We recognize our sinfulness. We fear God. We worship and praise him. He takes care of and provides for us. We still sin, but we are not like the "wicked" who are always planning and scheming for their next victims.



I believe this theme is carried on in the Matthew Henry reading for today, from his commentary on Psalm 51:16-19. "Those who are thoroughly convinced of their misery and danger by sin would spare no cost to obtain the remission of it. But as they cannot make satisfaction for sin, so God cannot take any satisfaction in them, otherwise than as expressing love and duty to him. The good work wrought in every true penitent is a broken spirit, a broken and a contrite heart, and sorrow for sin. It is a heart that is tender, and pliable to God's word. Oh that there were such a heart in every one of us! God is graciously pleased to accept this; it is instead of all burnt-offering and sacrifice. The broken heart is acceptable to God only through Jesus Christ; there is no true repentance without faith in him. Men despise that which is broken, but God will not. He will not overlook it; he will not refuse or reject it; though it makes God no satisfaction for the wrong done to him by sin. Those who have been in spiritual troubles know how to pity and pray for others afflicted in like manner. David was afraid lest his sin should bring judgments upon the city and kingdom. No personal fears or troubles of conscience can make the soul, which has received grace, careless about the interests of the church of God. And let this be the continued joy of all the redeemed, that they have redemption through the blood of Christ, the forgiveness of sins according to the riches of his grace."

A lengthy reading, but full of words of truth. The "wicked" mentioned in the above section would have none of this "brokenness." They see it as weakness. Well, so do I. The difference is, I recognize that, yes, I AM weak. I certainly am. And in my weakness, God is made strong and is glorified. And that is what my life is all about (well, that is the ultimate goal, anyway...).



Matthew 10:29-31

Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.

Seriously?? My hairs are numbered? The beauty of this passage is how much God cares for us, according to the words of Jesus. Even the hairs on our head are numbered. Such a seemingly insignificant thing as hair (insignificant to me, at least...judging from the number of commercials I hear on the radio, it is apparently extremely significant to a lot of people...) is seen as important to God. Jesus is assuring his disciples (and, I believe, all believers throughout the ages) that we are of value to our Father. He will not allow any permanent harm to come to us. (Yes, we die...but that is not "permanent," remember?)

He tells us that we are more valuable than "many sparrows." "Knowing that God values us in such a practical and loving manner, there is no way you or I should ever be afraid or anxious." (Quote from Daily Readings From the Life of Christ by John MacArthur)

This speaks volumes to my opening prayer. I was seriously worried last night. In fact, one might even use the word "terrified." I just KNEW things were going to go wrong. But nothing did. God took care of me. And made me feel very foolish and ashamed for worrying. As well I should.



Father, I will not, like the Pharisee in the gospels, pray to you that I am thankful I am not like the "wicked." What I will do is praise you for covering me with your grace and mercy. I praise you that you have chosen me to be a partaker in your blessing. Once again, I confess that I was sinful to worry last night. Your love and value for me and all believers is obvious to me. Why would I ever doubt it? Only one answer...sin. The flesh causes me to doubt. Satan uses that against us. This tempts us to doubt your love for us. But if you have even numbered the hairs on our head, how much more do you care about things in our lives that are truly significant! I praise you God, for your love and care for us!

Let us never be afraid to be broken and contrite. It is necessary when we have sinned. But once that is taken care of, we can be joyful and exuberant in our praise and worship of you.

I pray, Father, that this Sunday, when we meet with other believers to worship you, that our worship will be just that: joyful and exuberant. Let us worship you with abandon. Let us trust you with abandon. Let us do everything to glorify you and honor you, our heavenly Father!



PRAY FOR OUR CONGRESSIONAL LEADERS

The Senate sent an $18 billion job creation bill to the President Wednesday, providing, among other things, a new tax break for small businesses that hire new workers, paid for by enforcing foreign account taxes.

Legal action is already being prepared to oppose any passage of the health care reform legislation by the �deem and pass� means where voting on the actual Senate bill by the House of Representatives is avoided.

Pray that the intent of the legislation being worked on would actually benefit America�s citizens.



Know that you are loved. Try to envision how much your Father loves you and values you. Praise him and worship him.


0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com