Love Is Invincible
2008-03-25

Psalms for today: 25, 55, 85, 115, 145

Let me hear what God the LORD will speak,
for he will speak peace to his people, to his saints;
but let them not turn back to folly.
Surely his salvation is near to those who fear him,
that glory may dwell in our land.

Steadfast love and faithfulness meet;
righteousness and peace kiss each other.
Faithfulness springs up from the ground, and righteousness looks down from the sky.--Psalm 85:8-11


Day 123

Song of Songs 8:6-7,11-12

THE WOMAN

Hang my locket around your neck,
wear my ring on your finger.
Love is invincible facing danger and death.
Passion laughs at the terrors of hell.
The fire of love stops at nothing--
it sweeps everything before it.
Flood waters can't drown love,
torrents of rain can't put it out.
Love can't be bought, love can't be sold--it's not to be found int he marketplace.

THE MAN

King Soloman may have vast vineyards
in lush, fertile country,
Where he hires others to work the ground.
People pay anything to get in on that bounty.
Buy my vineyard is all mine,
and I'm keeping it to myself.
You can have your vast vineyards, Solomon,
you and your greedy guests!


I especially like the part that begins with the phrase, "Love is invincible..." Because I truly believe that. True love never dies. Yes the sub-title to "Bram Stoker's Dracula" is true. Love never dies. "Passion laughs at the terrors of hell." Have I lost my passion? Have we, as a church, lost our passion? When I say "church," I'm referring to all Christians, everywhere, regardless of denomination. Have we lost our passion? Have we lost the concept of true love? "The fire of love stops at nothing--it sweeps everything before it." Ever seen those California wildfires that come up almost every year? They are practically unstoppable. True love is more intense than even those. And there is no love truer than God's love.


As I examine my feelings about true love, I find that I wonder if I am capable of it. I'm such a selfish person. There's not telling what condition I would be in if I did not have Christ guiding my life. Of course, if I would really let him guide me 100%, I would have a truly remarkable life.

Father, show me love. I know...you already have. You showed me love a couple thousand years ago when you stretched out your arms on that cross. I guess what I mean is show me how to love. Help me find the love that is inside me. I know it's there. It has to be, because you live in there. Help me tear myself away from the things that hinder me. Help me not be bound by things that are not healthy for me, spiritually (or physically, either, for that matter). Show me how to truly love my family with a passionate fire that can't be stopped. Show me how to love people at work with an intensity that shows. Let them see something in me that is different. That is you!



Tomorrow, we tackle Isaiah. This could be fun.

Grace and peace, friends. And love, much love.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com