God Has Eyes For You
2008-03-24

Just a side note...I really don't like the little device that pops up when you leave comments that wants to to prove that you're not a "bot." Once, it asked me to, you know, type in these two almost illegible words, only one of the words was (I'm NOT kidding) 8,000,000. ???????? THAT'S NOT A WORD!! IT'S NOT EVEN LETTERS!!! Sigh.


Anyway...happy day-after-Easter. At this point in history, Jesus was busy appearing to various people, up to 500, in one case, making it kind of hard to insist that all the people who saw Jesus after he rose were, you know, hallucinating?


Psalms for today: 24, 54, 84, 114, 144

How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD of hosts!
My soul longs, yes, faints for the courts of the LORD;
my heart and flesh sing for joy to the living God.

For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere.
I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness.--Psalm 84:1-2,10


Say...that would make a good song. *wink, wink, nudge, nudge*


Day 122

Song of Songs 4:9-15

There's a list of images that I'm supposed to choose from, as to which one I would prefer to be in God's sight. Here's the list...
>a dear friend
>one who looks God's way
>as pleasing as fine, rare wine
>as fragrant as an exotic spice
>one with kisses like honey
>one who speaks each syllable with sensitivity to God
>one whose clothes smell like the wild outdoors
>a lover and friend
>a private and pure fountain
>a sparkling, splashing fountain

I have a hard choice picking just one of these. So, I'm picking two. I prefer the image of being a "dear friend" to God, and I like the image of being one who "speaks each syllable with sensitivity to God."



Father, I pray this afternoon, first of all, that I would fully grasp how loved and treasured I am by you. That has always been a problem for me. Especially when I don't live up to what I believe your expectations for me to be.
Second, I pray that I would also fully grasp what it means to treasure you above all things. You are a treasure worth seeking and finding. You are a treasure worth selling all to keep.


Maybe I'll be able to find a pure, splashing fountain to sit next to sometime this week and meditate on these images...

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com