Burning Off sin
2008-03-26

Psalms for today: 26, 56, 86, 116, 146

Teach me your way, O LORD, that I may walk in your truth;
unite my heart to fear your name.
I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart,
and I will glorify your name forever.
For great is your steadfast love toward me;
you have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.--Psalm 86:11-13



Day 124

Isaiah 6:1-8

In this passage, Isaiah has a vision of the Lord, seated high on his throne, "and the train of his robes filled the Temple." He is surrounded by some very strange-looking creatures which are described as seraphim. Angelic creatures with six wings, two covering their faces, two covering their feet, and flying with the other two. Are these the same creatures that Ezekiel saw? If so, they also had a four faces, one on each side of their head.

Isaiah recognizes his filthiness in the presence of infinite holiness and cries out, "Doom! It's Doomsday! I'm as good as dead!."

But then, one of the seraphim flies to him and touches his lips with a burning coal and says, "Look. This coal has touched your lips. Gone your guilt, your sins wiped out."

Interestingly, the angel touched Isaiah's mouth because Isaiah had just bemoaned his unclean speech. "Every word I've ever spoken is tainted--blasphemous even!"

I wonder where the angel would touch me with his burning coal. I wonder what my life would look like if that were to happen.

Have I ever been so deeply in the presence of God that I have no choice but to fall down and cry out over the utter filthiness of my sin? My friends, I must confess it's been a long time.



Father, draw me into your presence. Show me the seriousness of my sinfulness. Dear God, let me see my sin through your eyes. That is the only way I will ever take it seriously, if I know how putrid it appears to you. How can I keep allowing it to surface if it is so repulsive to you; you, who are supposed to be the Love of my life? Burn the areas of my life that need cleansing. Sear them. Make them pure! Touch me with your burning coal.


The writer suggests asking two people in my life what they believe to be areas in my life that need refining by God's fiery touch.

I need to pray about that. That would be very difficult...well, maybe not difficult, but it could be very painful.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com