Pay Attention To My Prayers
2008-01-01

Here's a passage from a Psalm for today. Psalm 1.
Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers;
but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.

He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.
The wicked are not so, but are like chaff that the wind drives away.

Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous;
for the LORD knows the way of the righteous, but the way of the wicked will perish.

A fitting passage to begin 2008. My desire for this year is to be the "blessed" man described in this psalm.

Today, I'm reading Psalms 1, 31, 61, 91, and 121.


Day 40

read

1 Kings 8:22-30

This passage is Solomon's prayer of dedication for the Temple that he has built.

think

What is your immediate reaction to Solomon's candid prayer? I think it's an awesome prayer. It begins by giving praise to the Most High for keeping his promises to David through Solomon. I believe that it's a prayer that is spoken through lips that are totally in awe of the Lord. It's a prayer of a man who knows his place in God's work and who has great faith.

Solomon makes some bold requests of God. Are these requests that I could allow myself to make? Or do they indicate a belief in characteristics of God that I have not encountered yet? Actually, I think that I could see myself making these requests of God. Over the years, I have become very comfortable with my standing with God. Don't mistake that to say that I've "arrived." Far from it. However, my standing with God is that I am his child, a "brother of the son," as Don Francisco once put it. I have access to his throne through the blood of Christ. Therefore, I also have a "right," if you will, to make requests of God. We are instructed, in the Bible, to come boldly before the throne of God (Hebrews 10:19ff, Ephesians 3:12). And Solomon has asked for nothing that God has not already promised. He is simply asking God to be faithful to those promises. It's kind of like a child asking his parent to take care of him. My child has every right to approach me with her desires. I may not always say "yes," but she need not feel afraid to ask.

pray

I'm asked to read the passage again, looking for what stands out to me, especially regarding things that I might not believe as strongly. One phrase that stands out to me is the one that titles this devotion, "Pay attention to my prayers." "Listen to my prayers," asks Solomon. He actually repeats this request three times in the prayer. That is significant. If something is said three times, it is important.
I sincerely desire for the Father to hear my prayers. But in order for him to hear them, they must be spoken first. Simply put, I must pray before God can hear my prayers. So, as I attack 2008, one goal is to pray. "Pray without ceasing," Paul commands us. God cannot hear what is not spoken (understand I use the word "spoken" figuratively, as God can certainly hear prayers of the heart and silent prayers. Already, I'm sharing these desires to my Father.

live

Everything that one turns in the direction of God is prayer.
Ignatius of Loyola

I like that. I have been known to say that, when we take prayer requests at church, simply the act of speaking the request is, in itself, a prayer. And God hears that.

Also, we must understand that, like Solomon did, it's okay to let anxiety and insecurity be in our prayers. It's all part of our conversation with God.

Once again, I pray that you have a blessed 2008!

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com