A Dream Fulfilled
2007-12-31

As I close out 2007, I find these verses from Psalm 119 to be especially meaningful.
I will meditate on you precepts and fix my eyes on your ways.
I will delight in your statutes; I will not forget your word.

Those were verses 15 and 16 (usually when I quote Scripture, it is from the ESV--English Standard Version, which is my favorite translation of the Bible).
This is my goal for 2008. Like my friend, fan4, I don't make resolutions. I can resolve to lose weight (need to badly), or stop doing other things that are bad for me either physically or spiritually, but I don't do that. I have, however, set a goal. What's the difference? Not sure, exactly. But a goal is an objective that I can fix my "sight" on. A resolution is just a promise. And we all know how flaky those can be.


Today, I also finished My Utmost For His Highest, by Oswald Chambers. The reading for today is so fantastic that I'm just going to link to a website that displays it, rather than try to type the whole thing. It is very appropriate for New Year's Eve. I think I'm going to take it and read it at our New Year's Eve service at church. To read it, click HERE.


Day 39

read

1 Kings 5:1-5. Solomon shares with Hiram his desire to build a "house" to honor God.

think

Reading again, listening for words or phrases that stand out.
1. "God has provided peace all around..."
2. "Build a temple in honor of God, my God..."
3. "...following the promise that God gave to David my father..."

These are dreams that David had, but never realized in his own life. God fulfilled those dreams, just as he promised, through David's son, Solomon.

What dreams have I had? wow. I have dreamed of being a powerful worship leader. I have dreamed of being an inspirational song-writer. I have dreamed of being a "man after God's own heart."

What dreams have I let go of or picked up? While I admit that I have been awfully close to letting go of all of those dreams, I have not abandoned them. They are still there, and I will not let them go. I don't know that any new ones have been picked up. I think those three are enough.

pray

I will talk to God about those dreams, and about the phrases in the passage that stood out to me. I will listen to God for direction as to what our next steps should be.

Side note--I was handed an Experiencing God notebook in Sunday School this past Sunday morning. Apparently our class has decided to work through this over the next 12 weeks or so. My first reaction was to roll my eyes and go, "Oh, no..." I've done this study, years ago, when it first became a fad. I don't like the name. I don't think God is an experience! I don't want to experience God. I want to live in an intimate relationship with him. However...I have purposed in my spirit to sincerely seek him through this study and see what I can gain from it, perhaps somehow attaining this intimacy that has been so elusive during 2007.

live

Relish the peace that God gives, knowing that dreams don't have to be realized today. Maybe ponder and pursue your next step. Put on the idea of readiness and see if it fits.

I like that.

"Put on the idea of readiness and see if it fits."

I pray that you have a most blessed 2008! God bless you!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com