Idol Factories
2008-01-02

Today I'm reading these Psalms: 2, 32, 62, 92, and 122.
There's a warning in Psalm 2.
Kiss the Son, lest he be angry, and you perish in the way, for his wrath is quickly kindled. Blessed are all who take refuge in him.

But a blessing quickly follows in Psalm 32.
Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered. Blessed is the man against whom the LORD counts no iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceipt.



DAY 41

read

1 Kings 12:27-33

I'm reading the passage, focusing on the phrase, "This was blatant sin."

Jeroboam is king of Israel. Rehoboam is king of Judah. Jeroboam is afraid of being killed by the people, so he begins a system of idol worship, focusing on two golden calves. He creates a New Years festival to go with them and actually becomes the "worship leader," himself.

"This was blatant sin."

think

Under Jeroboam's leadership, the significance of worshipping God was lessened and eventually lost altogether.

It is easy for us to look at his actions with disdain, but even though we don't erect real golden calves, we have our own things that distract us from worshipping God. John Calvin called our hearts "idol factories."

I'm asked to identify some "golden calves" in my life that eclipse my worship of God. The list of possibilities includes reputation, power, wealth, identity, fame, church (yes, church!!), and relationships.

It's horrifying to think that church could be on this list, but how many of us make going to church the end rather than the means to the end? Oswald Chambers, in his book My Utmost For His Highest, over and over warns against making the "work" that we do for God more important than God, himself. We make ourselves so busy working for God that we ignore him completely.

Intimacy with God should be our goal. Anything that gets in the way of this is our own "golden calf." For me, it's a little more clear cut. My main calf is a sin that tends to keep me in its grip. I'm praying for this year to be different in that it I get free of it once and for all.

There are other things, too, though. Movies, television, my intense love of World of Warcraft...all of these things can be golden calves in my life, if I allow them. In fact, I think God has given me a clear sign by the fact that my laptop computer went on the fritz this past Sunday. It's just a minor thing, but I still have to be without it for a couple of weeks. This will be good for me.

pray

We should all spend time confessing our golden calves and ask the Holy Spirit to give us a "pinch" each time we turn to them. One technique that addicts use to help them in recovery is to put a rubber band around the wrist. Each time he is tempted to return to whatever the addiction is, he pops the rubber band. This hurts. It stings. Eventually, an association is made. When I think of ______, it stings. Rather Pavlovian, but, nevertheless effective.

Father, help me to overcome my golden calves. Pinch me when I start to turn to them. Slap or punch me if you have to. Whatever it takes. Because my walk with you is worth it.

live

Be aware that your heart is an idol factory. Recognize that idols come in all shapes and sizes. When you find yourself bowing a knee to them, return to the Lord in humility.

Remember the phrase, "This was blatant sin."

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com