Pray Where You Are
2010-07-29

Today is not starting well. We had to buy a new scale yesterday because the old one went insane. Seriously. I got on it and I had lost 13 pounds in ONE DAY! So my first morning weight on the new scale is eight pounds higher than my last Sunday's "official" weight. I know I haven't really gained eight pounds. I know it's because of the new scale. So why did it depress me anyway?? Then I tested my blood sugar as I do every morning right after I get up and it was 132. That might not seem so high to some people, but it's usually around 100-105.

I have this funeral to go to today. So I'm already emotionally wacked because of that, and I get these little things on top of that, so I'm feeling like warmed over mud this morning.

Oh, and Stephanie reminded me last night at around 8pm that I have jury duty tomorrow! Gah!! Well, at least that will be $8 dollars that I wouldn't have gotten otherwise. Wait. Are they paying us $12, now? I can't remember.

So, God? I really need you right now. I'm diving into your presence head-first this morning.



From The Valley of Vision
THE SPIRIT AS TEACHER

O God the Holy Spirit,

That which I know not, teach me,
Keep me a humble disciple in the school of Christ,
learning daily there what I am in myself,
a fallen sinful creature,
justly deserving everlasting destruction;
O let me never lose sight of my need of a Savior,
or forget that apart from him I am nothing,
and can do nothing.
Open my understanding to know the Holy Scriptures;
Reveal to my soul the counsels and works of the blessed Trinity;
Instill into my dark mind the saving knowledge of Jesus;
Make me acquainted with his covenant undertakings and his perfect fulfillment of them,
that by resting on his finished work
I may find the Father's love in the Son,
his Father, my Father,
and may be brought through your influence
to have fellowship with the Three in One.
O lead me into all truth, Spirit of wisdom and revelation,
that I may know the things that belong unto my peace,
and through you be made new.
Make practical upon my heart the Father's love
as you have revealed it in the Scriptures;
Apply to my soul the blood of Christ, effectually, continually,
and help me to believe, with conscience comforted, that it cleanses from all sin;
Lead me from faith to faith,
that I may at all times have freedom to come to a reconciled Father,
and may be able to maintain peace with him
against doubts, fears, corruptions, temptations.
Your office is to teach me to draw near to Christ with a pure heart,
steadfastly persuaded of his love,
in the full assurance of faith.
Let me never falter in this way.

Perhaps there is a purpose in my emotional maelstrom after all, this morning. Teach me, Father. Teach me.



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms
PSALM 88:9b-10,13-15

9 Every day I call upon you, O LORD;
I spread out my hands to you.
10 Do you work wonders for the dead?
Do the departed rise up to praise you?

13 But I, O LORD, cry to you;
in the morning my prayer comes before you.
14 O LORD, why do you cast my soul away?
Why do you hide your face from me?
15 Afflicted and close to death from my youth up,
I suffer your terrors; I am helpless.

The Psalmist has questions that have plagued him. Can I praise God from the grave? Why have I been suffering for so long? Why do I feel so alone?

Even though we don't see an answer to these questions, we know that there is comfort just in the process of prayer. Even Job concluded, "Though he slay me, I will hope in him..." (Job 13:15) "Not being in control, they were driven to trust in God's sovereignty."

"God alone knows the answers to the puzzling circumstances of life, though prayer itself, as an act of worship, does bring a measure of relief."

So far, this morning, these readings have been just what I needed. God is so good.



From Matthew Henry Daily Readings

9 I will sing a new song to you, O God; upon a ten-stringed harp I will play to you,
10 who gives victory to kings, who rescues David his servant from the cruel sword.
(Psalm 144:9-10)

Just this brief quote for today. "Fresh favors call for fresh returns of thanks; we must praise God for the mercies we hope for by his promise, as well as those we have received by his providence."



I JUST CAUGHT THE GERBIL!!!


Sorry about that. But that gerbil has been loose in the house for several days.


From Holiness Day By Day, by Jerry Bridges

Jerry Bridges quotes John Owen on submitting to the discipline of our Father. To submit to the Father of our spirits denotes "an acquiescence in His sovereign right to do what He will with us as His own; a renunciation of self-will; an acknowledgment of His righteousness and wisdom in all His dealings with us; a sense of His care and love, with a due apprehension of the end of His chastisements; a diligent application of ourselves unto His mind and will, or to what He calls us to in an especial manner at that season; a keeping of our souls by persevering faith from weariness and despondency; a full resignation of ourselves to His will, as to the matter, manner, times, and continuances of our afflictions."

The point is, the main issue is our attitude in adversity. We can still be submissive to God's discipline while praying to be relieved from it. Jesus gave us a perfect example as he prayed for relief from what he was about to endure, even though he knew he had to do it.



Father, you've given me a lot to chew on this morning, and I am very grateful for this. The morning started off on a bad note, but you have lifted me up by showing me some of the purposes for which these things occur.

You've shown me how dealing with these issues and emotions keeps me humble. They remind me of my humanity and frailty. They also remind me of how much I need Jesus. Holy Spirit, continue to teach me to draw near to Jesus with a pure heart.

There is comfort just in the process of these prayers, Lord. Even if I don't hear an answer from you, I know that you have heard my prayers, my pleas, and my praise. "Every day I call upon you." "In the morning, my prayer comes before you." I know what things are within my control (not many) and what things are not (most of them). Therefore, I trust in your sovereignty. My prayers are an act of worship. You alone know the answers to life's puzzles.

I also now know the importance of praising you for the things I'm hoping for from your promises. I'm not "presuming" that you are going to do anything, but I do have hopes based on your great and precious promises, and I can praise you for those.

Help me be submissive to you, Lord. I need to submit myself to your perfect knowledge of me! That would be the best thing for me. Let me take Jesus as my example daily.

Thank you, Father, for the words that I read this morning. They have helped me tremendously, to work through the emotions that I was experiencing. I actually feel somewhat prepared to attend this funeral, now.

Praise your holy name!

I thank you for a productive meeting of our church fellowship last night. We were able to make decisions that were important, and I don't think anyone got upset about anything, which I feared might happen. It was a good meeting. I pray for direction for us, Lord. Show us what you want Wings of Freedom to do. But make us patient, too. Let us not run ahead of you with our own ideas. I also pray that we will continue loving each other as we have been doing. That is so very important. Help us remember your command to love each other as you have loved us.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR PRESIDENT OBAMA AND HIS ADMINISTRATION

President Obama acknowledged that he is concerned about the �substantial� leak of more than 91,000 sensitive
documents, and gave reassurance that �the information doesn�t reveal any issues� that aren�t already available.

Education Secretary Arne Duncan announced that eighteen states and the District of Columbia are in the second
round of the �Race to the Top� competition for federal stimulus funds to help schools overhaul their systems.

Pray for President Obama and Secretary Duncan this week.

Also, I believe President Obama is on "The View" this morning.



Today was a great devotional for me. God really provided me with some good stuff. I'm very grateful for that, and actually feel like I can function today. I guess one thing to take away from today is that, even if we don't get answers, the act of praying can be of great comfort.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com