That's Why It's Grace
2010-07-30

The reason I'm getting to this in the afternoon is because I spent the morning (before I had to leave for jury duty) doing an online application for an FAA job. Government apps take a long time. Before I knew it, it was time to leave.

So now, I'm back home, have had lunch, and I'm finally getting to my devotions.



From The Valley of Vision
THE GOSPEL WAY

Blessed Lord Jesus,

No human mind could conceive or invent the gospel.
Acting in eternal grace, you are both its messenger and its message,
lived out on earth through infinite compassion,
applying your life to insult, injury, death,
that I might be redeemed, ransomed, freed.
Blessed are you, O Father, for contriving this way,
Eternal thanks to you, O Lamb of God, for opening this way,
Praise everlasting to you, O Holy Spirit, for applying this way to my heart.
Glorious Trinity, impress the gospel on my soul,
until its virtue diffuses every faculty;
Let it be heard, acknowledged, professed, felt.
Teach me to secure this mighty blessing;
Help me to give up every darling lust,
to submit heart and life to its command,
to have it in my will,
controlling my affections,
molding my understanding;
to adhere strictly to the rules of true religion,
not departing from them in any instance,
nor for any advantage in order to escape evil, inconvenience or danger.
Take me to the cross to seek glory from its infamy;
Strip me of every pleasing pretence of righteousness by my own doings.
O gracious Redeemer,
I have neglected you too long,
often crucified you,
crucified you afresh by my impenitence,
put you to open shame.
I thank you for the patience that has borne with me so long,
and for the grace that now makes me willing to be yours.
O united me to yourself with inseparable bonds,
that nothing may ever draw me back from you, my Lord, my Savior.

I am so unworthy of this gift...



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen
PSALM 89:1,3-4,30-33a

1 A Maskil of Ethan the Ezrahite. I will sing of the steadfast love of the LORD, forever; with my mouth I will make known your faithfulness to all generations.

3 You have said, "I have made a covenant with my chosen one; I have sworn to David my servant:
4 'I will establish your offspring forever, and build your throne for all generations.'" Selah

30 If his children forsake my law and do not walk according to my rules,
31 if they violate my statutes and do not keep my commandments,
32 then I will punish their transgression with the rod and their iniquity with stripes,
33 but I will not remove from him my steadfast love or be false to my faithfulness.

God has made a covenant with David. He is faithful and trustworthy, but he acknowledges the weakness of humanity and the possibility that David's offspring will not be capable of keeping this covenant. However, even if they fail, God will not remove his steadfast love!

The covenant is based on God's holiness and it is eternal! The writer of this Psalm proclaims the eternal nature of God's love in verse 1. God is faithful to all generations.



Father, I thank you for your everlasting love. I thank you for the eternal covenant, which will always remain because of your holiness, regardless of our failures. This covenant is sealed with the blood of Christ and is ours because you chose us and sealed us with your Holy Spirit. Praise your holy name! Because I am not, could not be, and never would have been worthy of this gift! And I, too, will join Ethan the Ezrahite in singing of your steadfast love forever.

I thank you for your patience with me and the grace that allows me to carry on.

"Strip me of every pleasing pretence of righteousness by my own doings." Let there be no pretenses in my life, Lord. Purify my heart. Teach me your ways, so I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR OUR CONGRESSIONAL LEADERS

Rep. Linda Sanchez (California) has introduced legislation to expand the wage protections of home care workers,
previously exempted from the minimum wage and overtime protections granted to the rest of the nation�s work force.

Both Congressional bodies have passed the nearly $59 billion emergency war funding bill, the bulk of which will go
toward the U.S. troop buildup in Afghanistan.

Pray as our Representatives and Senators draft, discuss and deliberate over legislation.



The gift of the gospel is such a treasure! We are so undeserving of the sacrifice of Jesus Christ. That is why it is grace. That is why it is mercy. Ponder that for a little while.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com