I Am Satisfied; Is My Master?
2010-07-26

Ah...another Monday morning. Another week of job searching. Perhaps this one will bring success; perhaps not. Either way, God is in control. He is sovereign over all things. And I will praise him, no matter what.

I did have a phone interview late Friday afternoon from one of my applications.



From The Valley of Vision
GOD THE SPIRIT

O Lord God,

I pray not so much for graces as for the Spirit himself,
because I feel his absence,
and act by my own spirit in everything.
Give me not weak desires but the power of his presence,
for this is the surest way to have all his graces,
and when I have the seal I have the impression also;
He can heal, help, quicken, humble suddenly and easily,
can work grace and life effectually,
and being eternal he can give grace eternally.
Save me from great hindrances,
from being content with a little measure of the Spirit,
from thinking you will not give me more.
When I feel my lack of him, light up life and faith,
for when I lose you I am either in the dark and cannot see you,
or Satan and my natural abilities content me with a little light,
so that I seek no further for the Spirit of life.
Teach me then what to do.
Should I merely humble myself and not stir up my heart?
Should I meditate and use all means to bring him near,
not being contented by one means,
but trust him to give me a blessing by the use of all,
depending only upon, and waiting always for,
your light, by use of means?
Is it a duty or an error to pray
and look for the fullness of the Spirit in me?
Am I mistaken in feeling I am empty of the Spirit because I do not sense his presence within,
when all the time I am most empty
and could be more full by faith in Christ?
Was the fullness of the Spirit in the apostles chiefly a power,
giving the subsistence outside themselves in Christ,
in whom was their life and joy?
Teach me to find and know fullness of the Spirit only in Jesus.



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen
PSALM 86:14-17

14 O God, insolent men have risen up against me; a band of ruthless men seeks my life, and they do not set you before them. 15 But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness. 16 Turn to me and be gracious to me; give your strength to your servant, and save the son of your maidservant. 17 Show me a sign of your favor, that those who hate me may see and be put to shame because you, LORD, have helped me and comforted me.

I find Wyrtzen's treatment here very interesting, so I'm going to quote part of it. Any of my readers who happen to be classically trained musicians will appreciate this part.

"Forte - In load and positive terms, David, here profiles the 'ruthless' enemies who oppose him and defy everything for which he stands. Not only do these 'arrogant' men attack David, they have utter contempt for the Lord as well (v. 14).

"Affetuoso - The mood changes to one of warmth and affection as David catalogs the virtues of his Lord - compassion, grace, slow to anger, love, faithfulness, mercy, strength, goodness. Such a God will not fail him in this time of imminent danger (vv. 15-16).

"Spiritoso - With rising vigor and a sense of urgency, David cries out for mercy and for 'a sign...that my enemies may see it and be put to shame' (v. 17).

"Rallentando - As the tempo slows, there is implicit trust in David's final words: 'You, O LORD, have helped me and comforted me' (v. 17). Whether David was anticipating God's early response to his request or whether he is reflecting on past favors, he's confident that God acts in his behalf."

And, in a final section of "personal prayer," the author continues:

"Largo - My Lord and my God, I bow in acknowledgment of Your mercies. Come to my rescue today and deliver me as much from myself as from false friends and enemies."



From Matthew Henry Daily Readings

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning? O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer, and by night, but I find no rest. - Psalm 22:1-2

"The suffering of the Redeemer was graciously accepted as a full satisfaction for sin. Though it was offered for sinful men, the Father did not despise or abhor it for our sakes. This ought to be the matter of our thanksgiving. All humble, gracious souls should have a full satisfaction and happiness in him. Those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, in Christ, do not labor for things that do not satisfy. Those who are much in praying, will be much in thanksgiving. Those that turn to God will make conscience of worshipping before him. Let every tongue confess that he is Lord. High and low, rich and poor, bond and free, meet in Christ. Seeing we cannot keep alive our own souls, it is our wisdom, by obedient faith, to commit our souls to Christ. who is able to save and keep them alive for ever."



Father, I do hunger and thirst after righteousness, but so often I find myself laboring after things that, in fact, do not satisfy. Help me find the wisdom that you have already given me to know the difference. You, alone, can keep my soul "alive." If I do not constantly seek after you, my spirit, my soul, will shrivel and die. Therefore, I will not cease to seek you and your wisdom.

Let me, like David, be aware of your mercies, each and every day, especially in the face of attacks from my enemies, whether they be spiritual or physical. I know that you are faithful and will supply all my need through your riches in Christ Jesus.

I pray for the Spirit in my life. I know that I have the Spirit. But I have been too content throughout various phases of my life. I need to maintain fullness of your Spirit, through meditation, studying, praying, any means which you have provided. Keep me faithful, Lord.

I pray for the unity of your Family, Father. Let the meeting we have this Wednesday evening happen with unity, grace and a strong sense of your purpose for us.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

THE WAR

The U.S. Navy has used a laser weapon to shoot down four unmanned aerial vehicles (drones) in a test off the coast of
California. Shooting down the drones over water constitutes an advance over focusing on static targets.

A major conference in Afghanistan has endorsed President Hamid Karzaiļæ½s goal that Afghan forces should lead
security operations across that country by 2014. Insurgents still retain control of parts of Afghanistan.

Pray for our military men and women in every branch of service and whoever operating.

Laser cannons!! Science Fiction geeks all over the country are in ecstasy!! :-)



Let us be fully satisfied in Christ.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com