Rest
2010-07-27

I'm late today! But a large portion of the morning was spent stalking an escaped gerbil. Which is still escaped. Currently, I have no clue where she is.

And now, dinner is in the crockpot, so that's taken care of. I also applied for another job today, so that makes the day somewhat productive.

So now I will do what I should have started out doing!



From The Valley of Vision
THE SPIRIT OF JESUS

Lord Jesus Christ,

Fill me with your Spirit
that I may be occupied with his presence.
I am blind - send him to make me see;
dark - let him say, "Let there be light!"
May he give me faith to behold
my name engraved in your hand,
my soul and body redeemed by your blood,
my sinfulness covered by the life of pure obedience.
Replenish me by his revealing grace,
that I may realize my indissoluble union with you;
that I may know you have espoused me to yourself for ever,
in righteousness, love, mercy, faithfulness;
that I am one with you,
as a branch with its stock, as a building with its foundation.
May his comforts cheer me in my sorrows,
his strength sustain me in my trials,
his blessings revive me in my weariness,
his presence render me a fruitful tree of holiness,
his might establish me in peace and joy,
his incitements make me ceaseless in prayer,
his animation kindle in me undying devotion.
Send him as the searcher of my heart,
to show me more of my corruptions and helplessness
that I may flee to you,
cling to you,
rest on you,
as the beginning and end of my salvation.
May I never vex him by my indifference and waywardness,
grieve him by my cold welcome,
resist him by my hard rebellion.

Answer my prayers, O Lord,
for your great name's sake.



From A Musician Looks At the Psalms
PSALM 87:1-3,7

1 On the holy mount stands the city he founded; 2 the LORD loves the gates of Zion more than all the dwelling places of Jacob. 3 Glorious things of you are spoken, O city of God. Selah

7 Singers and dancers alike say, "All my springs are in you."

Is the city of God mentioned here physical Jerusalem, or a future heavenly city. Perhaps it is both. The music that we will hear in the "city of God" will be indescribable. "Music will be the language of praise!"

I join the author in looking forward to the dancing and singing that will occur in the heavenly city!



Father, I need your Spirit today. I need to hear your music in my soul. Give me light, that I may see. Let me see that my name is, in fact, engraved in your hand, on your heart, in your book. I need replenishment today. Fill me up.


From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

THE ECONOMY

The Senate cleared the way for 2.5 million out-of-work Americans to start receiving unemployment checks again, even
as economists disagree on whether extending these benefits discourages the jobless from seeking work.

President Obama�s offshore drilling moratorium will cost approximately $2.1 billion in economic loss to the states
along the Gulf of Mexico and more than 8,000 jobs in the first six months, according to a recently released study.

Pray for the stability of American families who are dealing with work and job losses.



Do you hear the music today? Are you singing and dancing? Cling to the Spirit of Christ today and rest in him.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com