Thirsty?
2010-04-07

Father, I want to thank you for what has turned out to be a gloriously beautiful afternoon! When I walked outside to go pick up Steph this afternoon, it was indescribable! And we sat at Sonic, waiting for our order, with both windows down, and a gentle, cool breeze blew through the windows, relaxing me and calming me so very much. Thank you, Lord!

And, Lord, if you will allow me to get a little mundane, I want to thank you for baseball. I know some of my friends might get a giggle out of this, and that's ok. But the fact is, yes, I love the game, and it makes me feel good to watch it. But beyond that, Lord, a few years ago, baseball became something that gave Stephanie great joy. I don't know what prompted her to start liking it. Maybe it was the "cute guys." I just don't know. But I do know that it gave her something to love and enjoy, and it gave us something to enjoy together as daughter and dad. And I am so grateful for that. You saw her face Monday at the opening day game. Wasn't it beautiful, Father? Wastn't it? Yes. Thank you.



I will give to the LORD the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the LORD, the Most High.--Psalm 7:17

Psalm 42:1-4

1 As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God.
2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?
3 My tears have been my food day and night, while they say to me continually, "Where is your God?"
4 These things I remember, as I pour out my soul: how I would go with the throng and lead them in procession to the house of God with glad shouts and songs of praise, a multitude keeping festival.

This is the prayer of a man who is in desperate need of the presence of God. Perhaps he has been exiled from temple activities. Whatever the case may be, he uses a very visual comparison to express his desire for God. I have no problem seeing in my mind a deer, so very thirsty for water, that it stands there, panting. Maybe it's been running hard from a predator. Maybe it just hasn't been able to find water for a while. Perhaps it has even been frolicking playfully. Either way...now it needs a drink, and it needs a drink desperately.

I've felt that way. I frequently feel that way. Mostly, because I forget to drink. Sometimes I'm running from my "predators." Sometimes I'm "playing." Or sometimes I forget to go to the "stream" for a drink. God never moves. The source of our living water is never more than a prayer away. Never further away than the closest copy of his words. So if I'm thirsty...it's my fault. And I need to take care of that. I don't have to wait for a specified time to "come and appear before God." He's right here...I'm right here...so let's do it.



Father, I pray that you would increase my thirst for you, and my desire to slake that thirst daily. Let me never go too long without "taking a drink" from you! You are my source of life, and I must never forget that or take it for granted. Yes, you will always be there, but I must be constantly aware of where my life comes from.

Help me know where my life is going. Things are in a kind of upheaval at the moment. I don't know what's coming or what's about to happen. I don't need to know. I just need to trust in you for all things. If there's another job around the corner for me, prepare me for it. If there is trouble around the corner, prepare me for this, as well. Strengthen my faith so that I do not fail.

I thirst for you, Lord. Teach me again how to pray. I feel like I have forgotten. It should be like breathing. Fortunately, I haven't forgotten how to do that. But prayer should be just that automatic.



Thirsty?

The stream is right there. Right next to you. All you have to do is drink.

Grace and peace, friends.



2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com