Dreamer
2010-04-08

Father, today, my thoughts have been drawn to dreams. Not the kind that I have when I sleep, but rather the kind that I had when I was younger. Dreams of doing things; dreams of accomplishing great things; being something great and awesome for YOU! I've been inspired by friends and their journal writings. I once had dreams of being a songwriter. And I did write some songs. They were okay. But I never even sent one in to any kind of publisher. And today, I sit here and wonder what happened to the dreams. I'm pretty sure none of them had anything to do with having the top score of the week in Bejeweled Blitz.

Father, I'm committed right now to digging those dreams up. Right this second, I'm not sure at all what that's going to look like. (Christi don't worry, it doesn't involve a shovel.) And I don't know how long it will take. But I want those dreams back. They are NOT gone. They may be on a back burner. Waaaay back burner. So far back they're outside. But they are not gone. And I will not let them die.

I cannot do these things, though, without YOUR inspiration, Lord. I can be inspired by people. That's great. But I need the "magic" of YOUR inspiration. I need your Holy Spirit to fill me up. Let me empty all the garbage out so that there is room for you. I begin today. I will seek you. I will not let go of you. I know that you will never let go of me. But I want to be holding on to you, as well.



Psalm 42:5, 7-8

5 Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

7 Deep calls to deep at the roar of your waterfalls; all your breakers and your waves have gone over me.
8 By day the LORD commands his steadfast love, and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.

Continuing from verse 4, the Psalmist is in turmoil; despair over his thirst for God's presence. Verse 7 depicts a powerful scene. "As the troubled waters hiss and spew, the river becomes a metaphor for all that is overwhelming and uncontrollable in David's life, and he feels that he has lost his footing and is in danger of drowning." (Don Wyrtzen in A Musician Looks At the Psalms)

However, there is a ray of light. In verse 8, David takes consolation from the fact that the Lord "commands his steadfast love." The Lord's song is with him, even in the darkest night.



2 Corinthians 5:17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold the new has come.

Proud, vain, and carnal hearts are content with just so much religion as will help to keep up a fair show. But the apostle professes his own faith, hope, and joy; and that his principal glory was in the cross of Christ. By which is here meant, his sufferings and death on the cross, the doctrine of salvation by a crucified Redeemer. By Christ, or by the cross of Christ, the world is crucified to the believer, and he to the world. The more we consider the sufferings of the Redeemer from the world, the less likely shall we be to love the world. The apostle was as little affected by its charms, as a beholder would be by any thing which had been graceful in the face of a crucified person, when he beholds it blackened in the agonies of death. He was no more affected by the objects around him, thna one who is expiring would be struck with any of the prospects his dying eyes might view from the cross on which he hung. And as to those who have truly believe in Christ Jesus, all things are counted as utterly worthless compared with him. There is a new creation; old things are passed away; and new views and dispositions are brought in under the regenerating influences of God the Holy Spirit. Believers are brought into a new world, and being created in Christ Jesus unto good works, are formed to a life of holiness. It is a change of mind and heart, whereby we are enabled to believe in the Lord Jesus and to live to God; and where this inward, practical religion is wanting, outward professions, or names, will never stand in any stead.

(From Matthew Henry Daily Readings


Father, I thank you for that ray of light that lets me know how much you love me! Thank you for the realization that, no matter how dark the night gets, there is still a song that I can sing to you. And sing I will!! With my last breath, I will be singing songs of praise to my Lord!

I pray that the things of the world will have less impact on me as time goes by. I confess that there are things that have too much influence on me. Not horrible things, but things that draw me away from realizing my dreams; from making the most of the creativity and talent that you have blessed me with. I pray for a new motivation to use those talents for your glory.



Via the Presidential Prayer Team site:

JERUSALEM AND THE MIDDLE EAST

Hamas and several other Palestinian factions have indicated they will stop rocket attacks against Israel, so as not to give the Israeli Defense Forces an excuse of launch a major offensive in the Gaza Strip.

Israel this week began distributing millions of protection kits against biochemical warfare, although they stressed the distribution was not linked to any imminent threat.

Pray against the ongoing culture of retribution that exists in the Middle East

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem...



Everyone has dreams, right? Do you remember yours?

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com