A Life of Contrasts
2010-02-28

Today, Father, I pray for grace. I'm always asking for wisdom...that's a constant. But as the weekend comes to an end, and I face going back to work, I pray for grace. Your grace, yes, but more for the ability to be an outlet of grace, to show grace to others. This is one of my biggest flaws in life.


Secretary Clinton Calls Debt National Security Risk

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton said yesterday �outrageous� advice from former Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan helped create record U.S. budget deficits that put national security at risk. Clinton also said the massive U.S. foreign debt had sapped U.S. strength around the world. �It breaks my heart that 10 years ago we had a balanced budget, that we were on the way of paying down the debt of the United States of America,� Clinton said. �We have to address this deficit and the debt of the United States as a matter of national security not only as a matter of economics,� Clinton said. �I do not like to be in a position where the United States is a debtor nation to the extent that we are.� Having to rely on foreign creditors hit �our ability to protect our security, to manage difficult problems and to show the leadership that we deserve,� she said. �The moment of reckoning cannot be put off forever,� she said. �I really honestly wish I could turn the clock back.�

Pray for a recovery for the American economy. Please pray for relief and provision for the millions of unemployed Americans. Pray for leadership to reduce our nation�s debt

For once, I find myself agreeing with Hillary.



Psalm 30:11-12

You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;
you have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness,
that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent.
O LORD my God, I will give thanks to you forever!

"What colorful contrasts David experienced: from wailing to dancing; sackcloths of despair to garments of joy; independence to dependence; disintegration to integration; cynicism to caring; and from needing no one to trusting God. He exchanged a growing insecurity for unshakeable confidence. No wonder he vowed to praise the Lord and to give thanks to Him forever!"

I'm always in need of some of these swaps. Especially the one about cycnicism! Wow. Over the years, I have developed a hard shell of cynicism. I do care about people, but I tend to be doubtful of motives or sincerity. I'm also extremely insecure (in case you couldn't tell from reading this journal). I do trust God, but not as much as I should. Lately, I've been wearing a lot of sackcloth (figuratively speaking...I actually don't have any) of despair. But God continues to demonstrate to me that I have reason to hope, even when I can't see any.

Therefore, just like David, I will sing praises to my God forever, no matter what circumstances come my way.



Lord, I thank you for your grace in my life. I thank you that you are always there for us believers. You never leave us alone, no matter how much we might, at times, feel abandoned. Even in those times when you might hide your face from us, you are still there, watching over us.

I pray for more compassion. I pray for less cynicism in my spirit. Mold my mind so that it thinks more on things that are pleasing to you. Let me meditate more on your words. I pray for more consistency in my reading of your words.

Take this sackcloth and turn it into garments of praise. Let my spirit overflow with joy.

Lord, I pray for a happy birthday for my friend Susie, and I pray that you would heal her joint pains that she is experiencing. I pray that she will have a good day of celebration today.

I pray for the week ahead for Stephanie at school. She must endure the torture that is TAKS testing this week. I pray for a minimum of anxiety while taking these. I have already tried to assure her that it really doesn't matter, that she just needs to do her best. She gets so nervous about these things. I pray for government officials who realize how useless these tests are.



I hope that all believers can see the contrasts between the negatives and positives that David wrote of in Psalm 30. God has done so much for us. If we could focus on that instead of having our eyes glued on our circumstances...what a joyful life we could live!

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com