Shedding the Mortal Coil
2010-03-02

Father, I'm seeking your face today, and asking, as usual for wisdom. Both to know you better, but also to live my life in a way that is pleasing to you. A friend commented last night that my ways of dealing with issues at work has improved. I give you credit for that, Lord. It's good that someone has noticed, though. That gives me encouragement. Not that I am all that wrapped up in what other people think, but it helps me know that my striving is not in vain.


Psalm 32:1-2, 5

Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.
Blessed is the man against whom the LORD counts no iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.

I acknowledged my sin to you, and I did not cover my iniquity;
I said, "I will confess my transgressions to the LORD," and you forgave the iniquity of my sin. Selah.

These are wonderful words. Beautiful words. Comforting words. There is hope for sinners to have their slates wiped clean. God will forgive.

David speaks often of forgiveness in the Psalms. "Psalm 32 zeroes in on the exhilarating emotional release that comes from forgiveness after confession."

In fact, the good feeling we get when we are forgiven makes me wonder why we continue to return to sin. It will always be a mystery to me why I desire sin in this flesh. Well...it's not really that big a mystery is it? The answer is in the question. It's the "flesh." We are still attached to it, and it is not redeemed, yet. It's that "mortal coil" that is spoken of. Someday, we will shed that mortal coil, and we will never again desire sin. There will be no more temptation. There will be no more failure. I can not even imagine what that will be like. But I get chill bumps thinking about it.

(Quotation from A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Job 22:21

Agree with God, and be at peace; thereby good will come to you.

From Matthew Henry Daily Readings:

"After the Lord had convinced and humbled Job, and brought him to repentance, he owned him, comforted him, and put honor upon him. The devil had undertaken to prove Job a hypocrite, and his three friends had condemned him as a wicked man; but if God says, 'Well done, good and faithful servant,' it is of little consequence who says otherwise. Job's friends had wronged God, by making prosperity a mark of the true church, and affliction a certain proof of God's wrath." BAM!!! (As Emeril would say...) We "wrong God" by making "prosperity a mark of the true church." That is an awesome quote!

Finally, Henry says, this: "Our quarrels with God always begin on our part, but the making peace begins on his. Peace with God is to be had only in his own way, and upon his own terms."

Amen.



Father, I pray for ongoing peace with you. Peace, not only in my relationship with you, but in my relationships with others, as well. Both inside and outside the body of Christ. I pray that all believers everywhere would understand that true peace only comes with you and only comes on your terms. We cannot dictate the terms of that peace. Only you can.

And I so look forward to the day when this flesh no longer presents an obstacle to my holiness. Help me, in the meantime, to subvert this flesh and bring it under subjection to the gospel.

I pray for Stephanie and thousands of other Texas students tomorrow, Lord, as they are subjected to that pointless evil which is the TAKS test. May they have a minimum of anxiety as they take this test. Especially Stephanie, and anyone else who might be like her. This is an extremely stress-producing event in her life. I pray that she will know your peace as she takes that test, and that she will be assured that all she has to do is the best she can and that's good enough.



I just realized I forgot the prayer for the President at the front. So here is a prayer point from the PPT site.

Chile Thankful for America�s Offer of Help

Chile�s top official in the United States says he is extremely grateful for all of the support his country has received in the wake of this morning�s powerful earthquake. Chilean Ambassador Jose Goni told Fox News that government officials in Chile are still assessing the damage and it is too early to know what assistance, if any, is necessary. �We have received a very strong reaction and very strong solidarity from the government, from the White House, the Department of State, the Department of Defense and private institutions,� Jose Goni said.

Pray for the rescue of trapped Chileans from the earthquake this weekend. Pray for safety and provision for the hundreds of thousands left homeless.



Let's look forward with great anticipation the shedding of our mortal coil and the ushering into an eternity of peace.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com