The Lord Is A Refuge
2010-01-15

So much for seeking God's face more consistently this year! Gah!! It's been a crazy week, schedule wise for me, and those weeks always wreak havoc with my "devotions." Mostly because I'm too lazy to change something.

Anyway, it was finals week for Stephanie, which means she gets out early every day. 12:20 Tuesday, 11:13 Wednesday and Thursday. I don't remember what happened Monday...Oh, yeah...I had to go to the grocery store in the afternoon. So here it is Friday, and I haven't had a devotional since Sunday. Ick.

So enough moaning. Let's jut pick back up and carry on. Can't change what's been, can only affect what's ahead.



Lord, draw me deeper today.


A Musician Looks At the Psalms--Don Wyrtzen

"That the Sovereign of the Universe desires a close, personal relationship with me is almost beyond comprehension." (From the January 11 reading on Psalm 8)

Psalm 11

In the LORD I take refuge; how can you say to my soul, "Flee like a bird to your mountain..."

The LORD is in his holy temple; the LORD's throne is in heaven; his eyes see, his eyelids test, the children of man.

For the LORD is righteous; he loves righteous deeds; the upright shall behold his face. (Verses 1,4,7)

David's friends were advising him to flee to a cave in a mountain, as he was being pursued by an enemy. However, he placed his faith in God as his refuge.

Where do we run to today to get away from pain and stress? Some become "workaholics" (which, in my opinion is the major cause of stress in today's society, anyway). Others seek refuge in sex, drugs and alcohol.

"The Lord is in residence, not in flight. He is always there as a refuge and shelter for His people."

We must trust in God and "believe in the freedom that comes from His truth."



Matthew Henry Daily Readings

"Note, when we are in affliction we must pray; then we have occasion to pray, then we have errands at the throne of grace and business there; then, if ever, we shall have a disposition to pray, when the heart is humbled, and softened, and made serious; then God expects it (in their affliction they will seek me early, seek me earnestly); and, though we bring our afflictions upon ourselves by our sins, yet, if we pray in humility and godly sincerity, we shall be welcome to the throne of grace, as Jonah was." (From the January 13 reading on Jonah 2)

"The Excellent Wife"

An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. Proverbes 31:10

"But he that designs to marry ought to seek diligently for such a one, to have this principally in his eye, in all his enquiries, and to take heed that he be not biased by beauty or elegance, wealth or parentage, dressing well or dancing well; for all these may be and yet the woman not be virtuous, and there is many a woman truly virtuous who yet is not recommended by these advantages."

With all my heart, I believe that I found such a one 25 years ago. God has blessed me with the most wonderful wife.

I also believe that my oldest daughter is also such a one.



Father, let me always take refuge in you when I am troubled or pursued by the enemy. And, when I am afflicted, let me run to you first and pray, pray, pray.

I thank you so very much for the wife that you blessed me with so many years ago. Let me never take that gift for granted.

Father, I (along with many others) am lifting up the victims of Haiti today. I pray for relief for the survivors, as well as comfort for those who have lost loved one. Give supernatural strength to the rescue workers, and let the relief funds that are being given get to them quickly and efficiently.

I also pray for my boss at work. He is going to have some very tough decisions to make over the next couple of weeks.



Yes. Pray for Haiti. Don't listen to Pat Robertson. Pray for Haiti, and if possible give to the relief efforts.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com