From the Cover of Heaven's Gate...I Manipulate
2010-01-16

I'm kind of excited...I got an ESV Study Bible on my Sony Reader yesterday. Only $14.99. I'll have it with me at our church meeting Sunday morning.

I also got my replacement copy of the "Conversations" version of The Message. After having mine for over a year, I just noticed last week that 30 pages of Genesis was missing! How funny is that? You see, I only read Psalms out of that particular Bible last year, so I never noticed it. NavPress sent me a new one, no questions asked! Yet another reason why I am and will always be an avid supporter of The Navigators and their ministries. Those people are "spot on!"



A Musician Looks At the Psalms--Don Wyrtzen

Psalm 12

Save, O LORD, for the godly one is gone; for the faithful have vanished from among the children of man.
Everyone utters lies to his neighbor; with flattering lips and a double heart they speak.

The words of the LORD are pure words, like silver refined in a furnace on the ground, purified seven times. Verses 1-2,6

The description of people written by David hundreds of years ago doesn't sound all that different from people today. It is so easy for healthy relationships to sink to unhealthy political ones.

If we are controlled by the Spirit, we won't try to manipulate people. And that goes for preachers, too. Have you ever felt like you were being manipulated from the pulpit? I have. (Not by my present pastor, mind you...) And I resent it. Any preacher who tries to manipulate from the pulpit is not preaching from the heart of God. He is preaching from his own wicked heart.

Let our words be like those of the Lord, pure, like silver refined in a furnace.



Matthew Henry: Daily Readings

"Christ is Knocking" Revelation 3:20

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.

Ok. At this point, I respectfully disagree with Mr. Henry. I'll not quote any of the reading, because he launches into a discussion about how the sinner needs to open the door of his heart to Jesus, who patiently knocks on the door.

First of all, that is taking the verse out of context. Revelation 3:20 is part of one of the letters to the seven churches. This one, specifically to the church in Laodicea. The "church" is made of of saved people, not "sinners." Revelation 3:20 is not an evangelistic verse, and I totally reject any attempt to make it one. Jesus is speaking to his Church, and to this particular body of believers, trying to stir up some passion.

Second, the analogy of the heart having a door that can only be opened from the inside is completely unbiblical, and just this side of heresy. If it were true, then none of us would ever have been saved, because we would not have opened the door. If there were a door in my heart, only the Holy Spirit has the key to it, and only he can open it.

So, sorry, Mr. Henry. I'll keep reading, but this one left me cold.



Daily Readings from the Life of Christ--John MacArthur

"The Magi's Adoration, Part 1" Matthew 2:9-11a

After listening to the king, they went on their way. And behold, the star that they had seen when it rose went before them until it came to rest over the place where the child was. When they saw the star, they rejoiced exceedingly with great joy. And going into the house they saw the child with Mary his mother, and they fell down and worshiped him.

Matthew is almost at a loss for words to describe the reaction of the magi to seeing the star again. "They rejoiced exceedingly with great joy."

When the travellers finally arrived, Mary, Joseph, and Jesus had moved to a house. where they lived until God gave them further instructions. These "wise men" had the enormous privilege of seeing God's promised Son in person.

It is also important to note that when they did arrive, the fell down and worshiped HIM. Only Jesus was worshiped. Not Mary. Not Joseph. Only Jesus. "They likely were respectful of Mary and Joseph, but they reserved their true adoration for the Christ Child, because as God, only He was worthy of worship."

ASK YOURSELF
When was the last time you "rejoiced exceedingly with great joy" or "fell to the ground and worshiped Him?" What keeps you from sensing this kind of awe on a regular basis? And what could help to keep you in a state of mind and spirit that is routinely amazed at who Jesus is?

I don't know when the last time I fell to the ground was, but I have rejoiced recently. Many times my "rejoicing" is more quiet and contemplative, though. I will say that I probably have not experienced that kind of worship this week. And that is sad. The only thing that keeps me from "sensing this kind of awe on a regular basis" is me. My laziness. And I still believe that it is impossible to be in the presence of such an awesome God and not be changed somehow. What would help me? More consistency. More discipline and diligence to be seeking his face daily. More prayer.



Father, I pray for the discipline needed to live life that is more joyful and worshipful. Remind me by your Holy Spirit that I am constantly in your presence. Let me be aware of your awesomeness all the time. Also, let me never give the worship that belongs only to you to something or someone else.

I praise you, Lord, that YOU opened the door to my heart, not me! I thank you for choosing me and enabling me to love you and believe in Jesus as my savior. Were it not for your actions, I would not have believed.

I desire to seek your words daily. I will give them the importance that they deserve, being pure words, pure as refined silver. Let your words sink into my very being and color everything I think, do, and say.

I continue to pray for the relief effort in Haiti. Give the workers strength and persistence. Help them find people who might still be alive in the rubble. Let the supplies and funds be delivered quickly and let there be no beaurocratic red tape holding up their deliveries.

Also, wack Pat Robertson up side the head, please. Thank you.



If you believe in Jesus today, thank God for opening the "door of your heart." Regardless of what you've been taught, you had nothing to do with it. It was all God. He chooses.

Grace and peace, friends.

(Today's title was borrowed from a song by Steve Taylor)



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com