The Glory of the Cross
2009-11-12

It's my wife's birthday today. I think she's had a pretty good day. I hope so. Work can be very stressful, most days. I'm making some chicken in the crock pot for dinner, and a dump cake for dessert.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:30-32. Reading from The Message.

I choose the true road to Somewhere, I post your road signs at every curve and corner.
I grasp and cling to whatever you tell me; GOD, don't let me down!
I'll run the course you lay out for me if you'll just show me how.

"His words contain an implied admission of the...inability of men to make any advancement in well-doing, until God enlarge their hearts. No sooner does God expand their hearts, than they are fitted not only for walking, but also for running in the way of his commandments. Finally, this passage tells us, when God has once enlarged our hearts, there will be no lack of power, because, along with proper affection, he will furnish ability, so that our feet will be ready to run."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"A Good Soldier's Practice"
2 Timothy 2:3-4

Reading from the English Standard Version

Share in suffering as a good soldier of Christ Jesus. No soldier gets entangled in civilian pursuits, since his aim is to please the one who enlisted him.

Some attempts to alleviate pain, especially physical pain, are perfectly acceptable. "But when we face hardship for the gospel, there is rarely a godly path that leads away from suffering."

Mercifully, though, God equips us to stand for the truth in the most trying situations. We are assured of his grace, power, and the presence of his Holy Spirit. We also have the preparation of his Word, which encourages us to keep a "single-minded devotion to Him that keeps our eyes on the goal when the pain of life would distract us and make us stumble."

Just as a military soldier avoids distractions on the battlefield, soldiers of Christ "place their mission first, allowing nothing to deter them from keeping the orders of their captain." We are not being exhorted to separate from everyday life. But we are being encouraged to not let anything keep us from following Jesus.



Holiness Day By Day

"The Primary Issue"
Hebrews 9:14

Reading from the English Standard Version

...how much more will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without blemish to God, purify our conscience from dead works to serve the living God.

These are the works that Christ did on our behalf: "He perfectly obeyed the Law of God. He satisfied the justice of God. He exhausted the wrath of God. He removed our sins from the presence of God. He redeemed us from the curse of God. He reconciled us to God."

Every one of these works is directed toward God.

"This Godward focus tells us that the integrity of God's moral government and the upholding of His honor and glory are the primary issues in our salvation." Yes, it is true that our salvation springs out of God's love for sinners. But this love can only be demonstrated in such a way that magnify his glory and holiness. Jesus, who lived a sinless life and bore our sin in his death did just that.

In the glory of the cross, we can see that our deepest need was met, and it was met in a way that brings glory to God. "At the cross both God's Law and God's grace are most brilliantly displayed, and His justic and mercy both glorified."

Hallelujah, what a Savior!



Father, I thank you that you made a way to save us from our sins and glorify yourself at the same time. I glory in the cross of Christ. There is nothing else in my life which can compare, and there is no one else worthy of my praise and worship! This is why I worship you. This is why I attempt to lead others to worship you!

I pray that I would be less distracted by the things of the world. Let them not keep me from following you, dear Jesus! I pray that I can be a good "soldier of Christ."

I praise you for "enlarging my heart" so that I can run in the path of your commands. You have, indeed, set my soul free, and it is free, indeed!

Thank you for bringing Christi into my life almost 25 years ago. I pray that her birthday was a good day. I pray that we have many more good years together.

I give thanks for our daughters and pray that they will have long, happy lives.



Pray for the president for wisdom and discernment as his military and political advisors steer him toward a decision for deploying new troops to Afghanistan.


Praise God today for the glory of the cross. Magnify and glorify him!

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com