World or Word
2009-11-16

The weekend was a mixed bag of blessing, but it was highlighted by the Night of Praise with Dennis Jernigan that we attended in Tyler on Friday night. This was, in my opinion, one of the best NoPs we have ever been to. I'll try to write more about that later in my other journal.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:33-46. Reading from The Message.

GOD, teach me lessons for living so I can stay the course.
Give me insight so I can do what you tell me--my whole life one long, obedient response.
Guide me down the road of your commandments; I love traveling this freeway!
Give me a bent for your words of wisdom, and not for piling up loot.
Divert my eyes from toys and trinkets, invigorate me on the pilgrim way.
Affirm your promises to me--promises made to all who fear you.
Deflect the harsh words of my critics--but what you say is alwasy so good.
See how hungry I am for your counsel; preserve my life through your righteous ways!
Let your love, GOD, shape my life with salvation, exactly as you promised; Then I'll be able to stand up to mockery because I trusted your Word.
Don't ever deprive me of truth, not ever--your commandments are what I depend on.
Oh, I'll guard with my life what you've revealed to me, guard it now, guard it ever;
And I'll stride freely through wide open spaces as I look for your truth and your wisdom;

I really like that last verse. The image it produces in my mind is just beautiful.

"It is as if the prophet is saying here, 'Lord, as the whole life of mankind is accursed, as long as they employ their powers in committing sin, grant that the power which I possess may aspire after nothing except the righteousness which you appoint to us.' The better to manifest this, we must lay it down as a first principle, that seeing, hearing, walking, and feeling, are God's precious gifts; that our understandings and will, with which we are furnished, are a still more valuable gift; and, after all, there is no look of the eyes, no motion of the senses, no thought of the mind, unmingled with vice and depravity. Such being the case, the prophet, with good reason, surrenders himself entirely to God, for the mortification of the flesh, that he may begin to live anew."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Unchained Word of God"
2 Timothy 2:8-10

Reading from the English Standard Version

Remember Jesus Christ, risen from the dead, the offspring of David, as preached in my gospel, for which I am suffering, bound with chains as a criminal. But the word of God is not bound! Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they may also obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus with eternal glory.

Paul has, earlier, compared those who persevere in devotion to Christ to soldiers, athletes and farmers who enjoy the fruit of their labors in the form of missions accomplished.

Now he uses Jesus as an example to encourage Timothy and us to devotion. "The conclusion we are to draw is that if Jesus' suffering did not last forever and that if He was rewarded with life and vindication for His loyalty, so too will we be rewarded if we are true to God's call for us to endure all things for His sake."



Holiness Day By Day

"only Two Options"
Psalm 119:104

Reading from the English Standard Version

Through your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way.

In his writings, Paul established a constrast between conforming to the world and being transformed "by the renewal of one's mind." "He assumed only two alternatives." Our convictions will either come from the world around us or from the Word of God as our minds are renewed. "There is no third option."

Psalm 1 declares a similar contrast. One group is drawn more and more into an influence by the world, to the point that they become a negative influence themselves. The other group delights in God's Law and meditates on it, day and night. These are two "diametrically opposing influences." There is no neutral ground. We are either being influenced by society or by the Word of God.

I will say (as I depart slightly from the devotional text) that this can certainly change from day to day. There some days when I am more influenced by the world than by God's Word. But my life had better be ultimately being shaped by God or I am in big trouble.



Father, I pray that I am more and more coming under the ultimate influence of your Word and its wisdom and counsel. Your Word is life and truth. Let it guide me in my life. Let me run along the highways of your commands. I pray that you help me shuck the influence of the world, daily.

I pray that I will look to the suffering of Christ as my example to help me endure whatever comes my way in my life.

I thank you for the precious gifts that you have given. Things that I so often take for granted, like the very basic ability to speak and walk. Let me speak and walk for you. Let me live for you. Let me worship you and you only.



Not feeling very well this evening. I think it might be some kind of upper respiratory thing. Any prayers would be appreciated.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com