Forgiven Much, Loving Much
2009-07-06

I have a doctor's appt in the morning at 8:30. My back is still sore, and my right knee is numb. I can't lift my leg more than 45 degrees without sharp pain shooting through it. Not terribly worried, but something's wrong in there. Darn that exercise program! Geez. Try to get in shape and look what happens...LoL!!


Here's a prayer request for today from the PPT site.

Arms agreement with Russia. President Obama and Russian President Dmitry Medvedev have reached a preliminary agreement to reduce their nations' nuclear warheads to as few as 1,500 each. It's a blueprint to replace the 1991 arms reduction agreement between the U.S. and Russia. The President is also scheduled to meet with Vladimir Putin Tuesday.



Psalm for today: 81:4-6

A day decreed by God,
solemnly ordered by the God of Jacob.
He commanded Joseph to keep this day
so we'd never forget what he did in Egypt.
I hear this most gentle whisper from One
I never guessed would speak to me:

"I took the world off your shoulders,
freed you from a life of hard labor.
(The Message)

"Here God begins to recount the benefits which he has bestowed upon the Israelites, and the many ways in which he had lad them under obligations to him. The more galling the bondage was from which they had been delivered, the more desirable and precious was their liberty."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Value of Godliness"
1 Timothy 4:7b-9

Rather train yourself for godliness; 8 for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come. 9 The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance. (ESV)

The leaders in Ephesus needed to abandon speculations and "get back to the foundations of the faith." Correcting errors involves more than just leaving false teaching behind, however. "Diligent pursuit of truth and godliness is also required." Note that godliness is of more value than physical training. Not that this is an excuse, mind you, to be unfit. But we need to make sure our priorities are in the right place.



Holiness Day by Day

"Forgiven Much, Loving Much"
Isaiah 1:18

�Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord:
though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red like crimson,
they shall become like wool.
(ESV)

"The extent to which we realize and acknowledge our own sinfulness, and the extent to which we realize the total forgiveness and cleansing from those sins, will determine the measure of our love to God."

We know that we do not deserve God's great love. This is true. However, when our consciences are cleared by the blood of Christ, we are freed to love him with all of our hearts, souls, minds, and strength! This should motivate us to wholehearted, spontaneous love.

So to grow in our love, we must keep coming back to the cross. Back to that cleansing fountain that flows.

"Go on up to the mountain of mercy;
To the crimson perpetual tide.
Kneel down on the shore
Be thirsty no more
Go under and be purified." (Steve Hindalong/Derri Daugherty)



Father, may I always find my way back to the cross of Christ to reassure myself of my forgiveness and to have suitable motivation for throwing my wholehearted love and obedience upon you. Let me never doubt your love for me! Though I don't deserve it, yet it is true! My sin is great, therefore my forgiveness is great. I praise you, my God!

May I be ever diligent to seek your face through my devotions, Bible reading and prayer.



Seek his face today. Know that he loves you!

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com