Celebrate! Celebrate! Dance To the Music!
2009-07-05

What a week this was. The summer schedule (or lack thereof) always wreaks havoc with my devotions anyway. Reason? I don't have to get up in the afternoons to pick up Stephanie, so sometimes I sleep too late to have time for it.

This week added a totally unexpected variable. Apparently, my sciatic nerve decided to explode Thursday night. I was at work, everything was fine. I had had some mild, barely noticeable pain in the area earlier in the week, but it started getting worse while I was at work. Then, at one point, when I was moving my laptop, YIKES!!! I almost collapsed from the pain. I'm pretty much a baby when it comes to pain, but this was the worst pain I have ever felt in my life.

I somehow made it through the night at work, and, by the grace of God, was able to drive home. Christi got me a CareNow web check-in, and we went over there, where they gave me two shots, some pain meds and a muscle relaxer. He wanted to give me Vicodin, but I said, "No codeine!" So I got Darvocet. And some ibuprophen on steroids (800mg). The muscle relaxer is Flexeril. I slept well Friday night, and rested pretty much all day yesterday. I haven't been able to comfortably sit at my study desk until this morning, and it still hurts a little to sit in a desk chair. I got caught up on my devotional reading yesterday, but didn't post an entry here. Hopefully, the worst of this is over. I think I'll be okay for church this morning...so far, so good. The good news is that Rachel is here today, and can play guitar with us this morning. I'll decide about work tonight, later this afternoon.

So, on with the important stuff.



Here's a prayer request from the PPT site.

President Obama�s trip to Russia. During his trip to Russia on July 7, President Obama is scheduled to give a speech at the commencement of the New Economic School in Moscow. The White House reports it will be an opportunity for President Obama to discuss areas of mutual interest between the United States and Russia such as nonproliferation, global security, and economic growth.



Psalm for today: 81:1-3

A song to our strong God! a shout to the God of Jacob!
Anthems from the choir, music from the band,
sweet sounds from lute and harp,
Trumpets and trombones and horns:
it's festival day, a feast to God!
(The Message)

"Such having been the use of festival days under the law, we may conclude, that whenever true believers assemble together at the present day, the end which they ought to have in view is to employ themselves in the exercises of religion--to call to their remembrance the benefits which they have received from God--to make progress in the knowledge of his word--and to testify the oneness of their faith. Men only mock God by presenting to him vain and unprofitable ceremonies, unless the doctrine of faith go before, stirring them up to call upon God; and unless, also, the remembrance of his benefits furnish matter of praise."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)

In other words, when we gather together, we should celebrate and make sure our hearts are in it. God has no use for empty ceremony.



Tabletalk Magazine

"Some Will Apostasize"
Weekend Reading

I like the way this article starts. "The Bible never sugarcoats the painful realities of living in a fallen world." The church is shown to be in a constant state of conflict until Jesus returns. And it will lose some members.

Paul warns Timothy in the opening lines of 1 Timothy 4 that some will depart from the faith.

"From Judas onward the church has been confronted with the painful reality of apostasy." How are we to react when those who have been "bright, shining lights among the people of God" apparently turn their backs on Jesus and begin living sinful lives, or begin following what Paul calls "teachings of demons?" Do we begin to doubt what we have believed about our salvation? Are the Arminians correct in stating that Christians can lose their salvation?? Emphatically, NO! Jesus promised us in John 10 that no man can snatch us out of God's hands. Paul assured us in Philippians that "he who began a good work in you will be faithful to complete it."

The apostle John gives us further insight into this situation. In 1 John 2:19, he says this: "They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would have continued with us. But they went out, that it might become plain that they all are not of us." (ESV)

So, we must conclude, no matter how allegedly bright they were shining, if they truly leave the faith, they never were part of it. They get caught up in "teachings of demons," which means "they come to believe notions that originate in hell and are consequently led away from the faith.

"This is what causes people to make up rules that God's Word does not teach and to become convinced that by following them they are spiritually safe." That, my friends, is one of my biggest "pet peeves." It angers me greatly when I hear things preached from the pulpit as Biblical truth, when they are the farthest thing from it.

"Apostates are people who have been deceived. They have been duped into believing lies rather than the truth and, as a result, are not standing firm but are falling away."

"The antidote to apostasy, then, is a rigorous devotion to the truth of God's Word." Psalm 1 tells us that the man who delights in the law of the Lord and meditates on it day and night is blessed. We must make sure that our convictions are derived from Scripture alone. "There is no other way to stand firm in the faith."



Holiness Day by Day

"God's Necessary Wrath"
Colossians 3:6

On account of these the wrath of God is coming. (ESV)

We don't like to talk about God's wrath. The word, itself, drums up images of violent emotions and behavior. We are reluctant to associate wrath with God as one of his attributes.

We also don't want to think of our sinfulness as being deserving of wrath. We don't think we're that bad. Maybe a reprimand or a divine slap on the wrist. But an outpouring of wrath?? That's too severe. And perhaps we also don't want to think of our neighbors as being subject to God's wrath.

However, the Bible asserts over and over again that the wrath of God is expressed. And although it doesn't contain the kind of sinful emotions that we might associate with human wrath, "it does contain a fierce intensity arising from His settled opposition to sin and His determination to punish it to the utmost." God cannot help but be angry at sin; it is his nature. Sin is an assault on his divine nature. He must uphold his moral authority in the universe he created.

The good news is that, because of our trust in Jesus, we are not subject to this wrath. Our sin is covered, erased, buried, cast away, and any other comparison you might come up with. God's final wrath will be directed at those who refused him.



Father, I thank you this morning for reasons to celebrate. I thank you that, in a little while, I will be gathered with other believers, celebrating your grace and mercy as we worship you. I pray that our worship will be acceptable to you today. I pray for grace and strength as I try to lead people in worship, especially in light of the pain I have been experiencing lately. Make me totally unaware of this pain during our worship time.

I thank you, Father, that you have given me the ability to "stand firm," thus far in my life. I have watched, over the years, friends of mine drift away from you, some even to beliefs that are completely opposite of the truth. I pray for these friends, that there might be a way for them to be drawn back to you. I'm not thanking you that I am not like them. I'm simply thanking you that your grace has kept me from going finally down a wrong path. I have drifted off the path, Lord, yes I have. But your Spirit has always been there to bring me back.

Help us, Father, to understand your wrath and why it is necessary. It is a horrible thing. And even though we stand assured that we will not experience it, I have no desire to see anyone else experience it, either. My imagination cannot even begin to conceive of the horror that awaits those who finally refuse you. May we stand firm in our faith.



I hope you have reason to celebrate this morning. Put your hearts into it. Love the Lord with all your heart, soul, mind and strength!

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com