He Lived For Us
2009-06-02

What is this, Tuesday? Ok. Having several days off last week really threw me off kilter, here. Sure seems like it should be almost Friday, already.


Here is a prayer point for today from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

The President's trip abroad. He will be in Saudi Arabia Wednesday to meet with Saudi King Abdullah. They will discuss a range of important issues, including Middle East peace, Iran and terrorism. The President will then travel to Egypt, Germany and France. He'll address U.S.-Muslim relations in Egypt, visit the Buchenwald concentration camp in Germany, and mark the 65th anniversary of D-Day in France.



Psalm for Today: 65:4a

Blessed are the chosen! Blessed the guest
at home in your place!
(The Message)

"It is evident that all are not alike called; and observation proves the ignorance of those who will assert that the grace of God is extended to all in common, without any choice exerted on his part.

"We are near him, not as having anticipated his grace, and come to him of ourselves, but because, in his condescension, he has stretched out his hand as far as hell itself to reach us. To speak more properly, he first elects us, and then testifies his love by calling us."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calving on the Psalms)



Father, I thank you that you elected me, called me, and made my salvation sure. Had you not worked in my life, I would have no interest or desire to follow you or to serve you. But because of your grace and your "good pleasure," I am part of your Church and the desire of my heart is to serve you and to glorify you. I pray that my heart would be more pure and not be corrupted by the world around me.


Tabletalk Magazine

"How Godly Women Dress"
1 Timothy 2:9-10

9 likewise also that women should adorn themselves in respectable apparel, with modesty and self-control, not with braided hair and gold or pearls or costly attire, 10 but with what is proper for women who profess godliness�with good works. (ESV)

Uh-oh...

Ok...there's a lot of background in today's reading about Roman women and how their philosophy surprisingly resembles the radical feminism of today. And their mode of dress reflected their philosophy. Godly women, according to Paul, should desire to point others to the Lord, not themselves. Paul encouraged them not to focus on outward adornment but on good works.

"...it seems best not to read Paul's words as an absolute prohibition of precious stones and metals. He simply calls women to use good judgment and modesty when they dress and to emphasize deeds of service over their outward appearance."



Holiness Day by Day

"Everything For Us"
1 John 3:16

By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers.

"In recent years Christians have tended to focus on the death of Christ almost to the neglect of His sinless life. Jesus' life of perfect obedience has been seen mostly as a necessary precondition to His death. However, Jesus not only died for us; He also lived for us. All that Christ did in both His life and death, He did in our place as our substitute."



Dear Jesus, I thank you for the life that you lived in our place. I thank you for living a perfect life because I would not be able to. And I humbly praise you for taking my punishment on yourself for my sin, as God's law required.


I apologize for being a little distracted today. There are things going on that took my attention away, so that I was not able to focus strictly on this.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com