We All Need the Same Grace
2009-06-01

It's Monday afternoon of a weird week. Stephanie has an abbreviated schedule this week for finals, so she gets out at noon today and tomorrow, and at 10:45 Wednesday. There goes my sleep schedule! So today, I slept two hours, went and picked her up and slept about 3.5 more. I'll get an hour nap before work. Whee.


Here's a prayer point for today from the Presidential Prayer Team site.

Pray for President Obama today as he meets with his National Economic Council staff in the Roosevelt Room after making comments earlier today on the American automotive industry...

Ok...this has, no doubt, already happened, but we still need to be praying for our economic situation. In my opinion, it is most definitely NOT getting better, especially since the gasoline companies have decided to start gouging us once again (gas up to around $2.42 here, now, up a dollar a gallon from early spring).



Psalm for Today: 65:4a

Blessed are the chosen! Blessed the guest
at home in your place!
(The Message)

"That pardon which we daily receive flows from our adoption, and on it also are all our prayers founded. How could the sinner venture into the sight of God, to obtain reconciliation with him, were he not persuaded of his being a Father?"

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Tabletalk Magazine

"Lifting Holy Hands in Prayer"
1 Timothy 2:8

I desire then that in every place the men should pray, lifting holy hands without anger or quarreling; (ESV)

First of all, Paul is encouraging people to pray "in ever place," or, wherever they might find themselves. Homes, workplaces, cars, etc.

The article states that the posture is not what Paul is centering on, here (i.e. "lifting....hands"), but it is the condition of the hands ("holy"). "The Old Testament is filled with allusions to clean hands as symbolic of godly actions and a pure heart (Ps. 26:6; Isa. 1:15); thus, we are to be about the business of good works with a pure heart if we would have the Lord hear our prayers."

It is important to note that the designation "holy" does not mean that we will be perfect, but we must be repentant.



Holiness Day by Day

"Who Needs Grace Most?"
Philippians 1:7

It is right for me to feel this way about you all, because I hold you in my heart, for you are all partakers with me of grace, both in my imprisonment and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel. (ESV)

"Saints" need God's grace just as much as "sinners." "The most consientious, dutiful, hardworking Christian needs God's grace as much as the most dissolute, hard-living sinner." We all need the same grace because our "good works" are "debased and worthless before God."

All people are equally undeserving and unable to do anything to earn God's blessing.

The beauty of it is, though, that grace can neither be earned by merit nor forfeited by demerit. If you feel like you deserve an answer to prayer because of your hard work, you are living by works, not by grace. However, if you despair of receiving God's blessing because of sin, you are also "casting aside the grace of God."

Like the author, I seldom think in terms of my merits, but I am oh, so mindful of my "demerits." I need to be constantly reminded that "my demerits do not compel God to withdraw His grace from me, but rather He treats me with no regard whatsoever to what I deserve. I'd much rather stake my hope of His blessing on His infinite goodness than on my good works."

AMEN!!



Father, I praise you that your grace is not based on my goodness! I thank you that there is nothing I can do to earn your grace, nor is there anything I can do to "un-earn" it. This is a glorious truth, for which you deserve great praise and worship!

I do pray, though, that you help me be repentant so that I can lift up "holy hands" to you in prayer. There are times when I feel as though I have forgotten how to pray to you. Remind me, oh, God, how to intercede for your Church! Remind me of how much you love your Church! And help us all to perceive of the Church as worldwide, not just our communities.

I praise you, Father, that we are the chosen ones, who have been blessed to dwell in your "santuary!"



Lift up your holy hands today in prayer for your brothers and sisters around the world. And give thanks to God for being chosen.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com