DAY 297--RELATIONSHIPS FOR LIVING WELL
2009-01-01

Happy New Year to everyone! We had some friends from church over and actually made it to the new year. Good times with good friends.


I'll start off, as usual, with the Presidential Prayer Team daily prayer for President-elect Obama and his appointees. There are now less than 20 days until the historic inauguration.

For faithfulness as we pray for President-Elect Barack Obama, the Vice President-Elect and other leaders
For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you and asking God to fill you with the knowledge of His will through all spiritual wisdom and understanding.
�Colossians 1:9

As the only sovereign God, the one to whom all our allegiance is due, we bow before You now. We ask, Lord, that You will enable us now to set aside all distractions and cares and focus our prayers on all of our governmental leaders, especially our new President and Vice President.

Lord, make us faithful in prayer, even when we may not agree with those You have placed into authority over us. You have told us to remain steadfast in intercession, asking for our leaders to be flooded with all knowledge of Your will. Holy God, enable us to become true and consistent intercessors, praying for our new President and his administration, today and every day. In the name of Jesus, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 133

Behold, how good and pleasant it is when brothers dwell in unity! Verse 1



Day 297 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Ephesians 6:1-9

In this passage, Paul gives some helpful advice about our various relationships. He begins with children, moves to parents, then goes on to servants and masters. Most of us can relate to at least three of these areas. I'm currently not anyone's "master." But I am a child of my parents, a parent to my children, and a servant to a worldly master.

First, we are told, as children to do what our parents tell us. Very simple. He then quotes the only commandment that has a promise attached to it, "Honor your father and mother."

Then, we are told, as parents (he actually says "fathers") not to "exasperate" our children by "coming down hard on them." He tells us to "take them by the hand and lead them in the way of the Master." Ouch. I don't think I've done a real great job of this...

As "servants," we are instructed to obey our earthly masters (but always with our eyes toward obeying the real Master), not to do only what it takes to get by, and we are told to work with a smile on our face, "always keeping in mind that no matter who happens to be giving the orders, you're really serving God." That may be the hardest one to obey. But it is a worthy goal, and I will strive to keep it right in front of me.

Finally, the masters are instructed to refrain from abuse and threats. Because the earthly master and the servant are both under the same "Msster in heaven," who makes no distinction between the two. I have a "master" who is a Christian who seems to forget that frequently.



Father, I pray upon reading this passage that you would fill me with your Spirit in order to obey these instructions. I'm still a father, so it's not too late to begin to take the hands of my children and lead them down your path. Although one is an adult now, so the most I can do is pray that she will remain on the path. Help me to always respond with love to my children, no matter what, not coming down hard on them, as Paul forbids in this passage. As you have already prompted me for this year, let me have my feet firmly planted on love.

As an employee, I ask that you help me to do all my work joyfully, with a smile on my face. Give me the wisdom and strength to go beyond the call of duty and not just do what is necessary to get by. Even though the company is cutting our wages, let me not react negatively to that. Let me be known as a quality worker, so that your name will not be smeared. Most of all, let me be an inspiration and witness to my terminal manager, that he might see where he has strayed from your path.



I don't really have much to add...my prayer speaks for itself. I have work to do as a father and as an employee. Work that will honor God as I grow in 2009.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com