DAY 298--THE POSTURE OF GRATEFULNESS
2009-01-02

I'll jump right in with the Presidential Prayer Team daily prayer for President-elect Obama and company.

For God�s wisdom and help in the choice of Administrator of the Office of National Drug Control Policy, that our nation may win the war on drug abuse and protect innocent lives that are damaged by drug trade and abuse.
Be very careful, then, how you live�not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord's will is. Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit.
�Ephesians 5:15-18

Oh righteous and holy God, You have made us to be in fellowship with You and each other, living holy and pure lives that honor and glorify You. You are worthy of our praise and adoration, Lord God, and Your will for our lives is life-giving and good.

I bring before You today the need for an Administrator of the Office of National Drug Control Policy, asking that You bring forward a candidate whose life is not only free from addiction and abuse, but who deeply understands the heartbreak that occurs when substances take Your rightful place in our lives. I ask this in Jesus� holy name, amen.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 134

Come, bless the LORD, all you servants of the LORD, who stand by night in the house of the LORD!

Lift up your hands to the holy place and bless the LORD! Verses 1-2



Day 298 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Philippians 1:3-6

In this portion of the Paul's salutation to the church in Philippi, Paul is expressing thanks to God for both the faithfulness of the Christians in that city and to God, who is faithful to complete the work that he started.

In fact, Paul states that he breaks out "in exclamation of thanks to God," every time he thinks about the Philippians. The author of the devotion points out that, for most of us, it is our nature to only approach God when we need something. If you don't believe that, next time you are meeting with your church, pay attention to the prayer request time (if you have one). What percentage of them are for needs such as physical healing, financial needs, emotional stress, addiction to one thing or another? I will say this about the church that I'm part of. Our prayer time is pretty amazing. It is pretty evenly divided between praise/thanksgiving for blessings and requests for needs. I truly believe that this must be a sweet aroma to our Father! The author says this: ...it's hard to pray heartfelt, God-honoring prayers with an ungrateful and complaining spirit. We should always be grateful for something in prayer.

May I say....OUCH!! I am the "chief of sinners" when it comes to a complaining spirit. And I will also say that God is doing some great work on me in that area. And, honesly, when I pray, I definitely don't include enough gratitude. So there's another goal for 2009. More gratitude.

Feet firmly planted on love and more gratitude.



Father, in light of this reading, I will start this prayer with gratitude. But I really don't have time to tell you everything I'm thankful for. I would be here until Sunday. Not that that's a bad thing...

I am most grateful for the fact that you chose me in Christ. You chose me and then made certain that I would choose Jesus. I cannot begin to express my gratitude for that.

I am grateful that you have placed this family in my life. My wife is a gracious, beautiful soul who cares about everyone around her. You have blessed me with her. My children are wonderful. So different, the two of them, yet both beautiful in their own ways. Thank you for them.

You have placed me in another "family." The church that we are part of is unique, in my opinion. And I believe that you are going to accomplish some pretty amazing things this year through this little band of believers. I am grateful for this, too.

I am also very, very grateful for a friend at work that you placed in my way. One Phillipp Scott, who I know is very dear to you, and is one who knows how to listen to you. I praise you that you made our paths cross. You have shown me a lot through him. I pray that you continue your work in Phillipp and bring it to completion. Let him know what it is that he is supposed to be doing. I know you are showing him...just let him pay attention.

Praise your holy name.



Give praises to God today for all that he has given you. Think of someone who he has placed in your life and give thanks to God for that person, then pray for them, as well.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com