DAY 226--DO YOU SEE THIS WOMAN?
2008-08-28

Psalm for today: Psalm 78:1-39

In spite of all this {see verses 25-31}, they still sinned;
despite his wonders, they did not believe.
So he made their days vanish like a breath, and their years in terror.
When he killed them, they sought him;
they repented and sought God earnestly.
They remembered that God was their rock, the Most High God their redeemer.
But they flattered him with their mouths;
they lied to him with their tongues.
Their heart was not steadfast toward him;
they were not faithful to his covenant.
Yet he, being compassionate, atoned for their iniquity and did not destroy them;
he restrained his anger often and did not stir up all his wrath.
He remembered that they were but flesh, a wind that passes and comes not again.
Verses 32-39

The key of that passage is the last two verses. God's compassion over-ruled his wrath. And I think the thing that speaks to me the most is that "he remembered that they were but flesh." God knows that we are not like him. He knows our frailty. That speaks volumes.



Day 226

Luke 7:37-47

This passage relates the time when Jesus was at Simon's house. Simon was a Pharisee. A town harlot heard that Jesus was there, and showed up with a bottle of very expensive perfume (some scholars guess that it may have been worth a year's wages!), broke open the bottle and poored it over Jesus's feet! Ok, let's get this in the right order. First, she washed his feet with her tears. Then she dried his feet with her long hair. Then she anointed his feet with the perfume.

Wow.

The Pharisee, of course, raises an objection. He's all, "Does he not know what kind of woman this is?? And yet, he's allowing her to touch him??"

Jesus, of course, could "hear" Simon's thoughts, and responded with one of his classic questions. He tells of two men who were in debt. One owed 500 silver pieces, the other 50. Regardless of the amount, neither one could pay. The banker cancelled both debts. Jesus asks, "Which one of the two would be more grateful?" Simon answers correctly, of course, "I suppose the one who was forgiven the most." SNAP goes the trap!!

"That's right," says Jesus. Then Jesus rips Simon, big time. He tears into him about how he provided no washing for his tired feet, yet this woman, this whore rained down her tears on his feet. Simon provided no greeting, but this woman has not ceased kissing Jesus's feet since she got there. Simon gave him nothing for refreshing, but she has soothed his feet with perfume. She was forgiven many sins. See how grateful she was? Grateful to the point that she threw away a year's wages to anoint the feet of Jesus. Simon, being a Pharisee, probably felt that he didn't need much forgiveness.

I'm asked to choose one participant in this story that I identify the most with.

I have to say that I most identify with the whore. Surprised?

I have many sins in my life. Have/had. Whichever. There will be many more. I am amazed that I am still alive to serve Christ. He should have just done away with me years ago. But I guess he still has a purpose for me being around to serve.

I am gloriously forgiven for my myriad of sins. (I almost said "plethora.") ("Would you say I have a 'plethora' of pinatas?") *ahem* Sorry.

Anway...as I said. Gloriously forgiven. I can't "outsin" God's grace!! Isn't that amazing?? And I can't sin so badly that he won't forgive me. It's boggling if you think about it, and it should cause the kind of reckless abandon that drove this whore to shower the feet of Jesus with her tears and pour out her life on his feet.

The difference is that I typically don't respond that way. Yes, I am grateful. Grateful enough that I always try to abundantly share the resources that God has given me. But I have yet to achieve that sense of "reckless abandon."

I need it.



Jesus, I am fully aware of the scope of my sinfulness. It shames me sometimes. But then, in my mind, I see your eyes of forgiveness as you look at me. I see the love. I see the compassion. Teach me how to be as grateful as this woman was. Teach me to love you with reckless abandon.


Oswald Chambers said, If human love does not carry a man beyond himself, it is not love. If love is always discreet, always wise, always sensible and calculating, never carried beyond itself, it is not love at all. It may be affection, it may be warmth of feeling, but it has not the true nature of love in it. (From My Utmost For His Highest)

Ponder that statement with me. I will look for ways to let love carry me beyond myself. Out of my comfort zone, perhaps.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com