DAY 225--NO RUN-OF-THE-MILL-SINNER
2008-08-27

Psalm for today: Psalm 77

I will remember the deeds of the LORD;
yes, I will remember your wonders of old.
I will ponder all your work, and meditate on your mighty deeds.
Your way, O God, is holy.
What god is great like our God?
You are the God who works wonders;
you hav emade known your might among the peoples.
Verse 11-14



Day 225

Luke 6:27-36

Jesus teaches about how to treat others in this passage. It's radical, especially for a group of people who are used to the "eye for an eye" philosophy.

I like Peterson's translation of the verse where Jesus tells us to pray for our enemies. "When someone gives you a hard time respond with the energies of prayer for that person." (Italics mine)

How many times have you prayed for someone who gave you a hard time? I know from experience that, a)it's not our first inclination, and b)even when I work at it, it's very difficult. But I'm committing to work harder to do this, starting right now. I've already got some people in mind.

No one has tried to steal my shirt lately, or slapped me in the face. But, I should be ready to respond in a way that Jesus would approve of, should those things happen.

And here is Peterson's translation of the Golden Rule: "Ask yourself what you want people to do for you; then grab the initiative and do it for them!"

Then he really starts hitting home. We are God's people, brothers and sisters of Jesus. So, do we love only those people who are lovable? Do we only help those who help us? Do we only give when we expect something in return? Jesus says that "run-of-the-mill sinners" do these things!

Jesus closes this talk with these words:
I tell you, love your enemies. Help and give without expecting a return. You'll never--I promise--regret it. Live out this God-created identity the way our Father lives toward us, generously an graciously, even when we're at our worst. Our Father is kind; you be kind.

These have to be some of the most difficult words ever spoken. Human nature instinctively goes against everything that Jesus has taught here. But, and here is the kicker, we are supposed to have the nature of Jesus inside us. So we should be able to override the human nature and do what he wants/expects us to do.



Father, I thank you that you love us even when we are at our worst. I praise you that you love me when I act like I barely know you. I pray for the strength to live out these words of Jesus, beginning immediately. Not tomorrow...or Monday, but NOW. When I come face to face with people who annoy me tonight at work, let the Holy Spirit remind me immediately of the words of Jesus in this passage. And let me respond with "the energies of prayer" toward them. (Side note...that doesn't mean shaking my finger in their face and proclaiming that I'm praying for them because they're annoying!) Prepare me spiritually and physically for responding in a Christlike manner should someone choose to slap my face or steal my shirt. Help me love my enemies.


What kind of person would I be if I could accomplish all these things? Or, should I say, if God could accomplish these things in me, because I could never achieve these ideals. I don't think I would recognize me. I know my wife wouldn't. But I will endeavor to work toward these goals.

Grace and peace, friends



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com