What Are You Counting On?
2008-06-22

Today's worship service is almost a "throw-away." I really don't like that, either, but I have to deal with it. It's the sort of "finale" to VBS, and we have to have the kids sing and watch a slide show and stuff. At least this year, we are having a few minutes of actual worship. Last year, we basically did the daily opening ceremony that the kids did each day for VBS. Don't get me wrong...I think that VBS is important and the things that children learn during the week is also important. And on this Sunday, a lot of their parents come (most for the only time all year), and get to see something that their kids were doing. But this is also the only worship service we have at our church all week. One service a week. So I don't like to see that opportunity for corporate worship snatched away from people who are regular attenders. It will be ok, though. All will work out.


Psalm for today: Psalm 38

But for you, O LORD, do I wait;
it is you, O Lord my God, who will answer.
For I said, "Only let them not rejoice over me,
who boast against me when my foot slips."

For I am ready to fall,
and my pain is ever before me.
I confess my iniquity;
I am sorry for my sin.
But my foes are vigorous, they are mighty,
and many are those who hate me wrongfully.
Those who render me evil for good accuse me because I follow after good.

Do not forsake me, O LORD!
O my God, be not far from me!
Make haste to help me,
O Lord, my salvation!

This is such an honest, open, heart-felt cry of a man who is desperate for God's grace. He knows he is "ready to fall;" he is close to disaster. I know how that feels.



Day 185

Nahum 3:14-17

This passage contains a clear warning to a people about relying on the economic strength of the nation. What a poignant message. It is very tempting to rely on economic prosperity. Nineveh relied on the shopkeepers, brokers and bankers, yet they are described by Nahum (or by God through Nahum) as locusts. The government bureaucrats are also described as locusts.

Wow. This sounds vaguely familiar! (Sarcasm intended...) What would our lives look like if we relied on God for our future and safety instead of the economy or the government? During this presidential campaign, the focus has been on what the government is going to do for us after the new president is elected. What kind of health care is the government going to provide for us? What kind of jobs is the government going to create for us?

Where on earth do these ideas come from??? Why are we even thinking this way?

As Christians, we should be relying on God and God alone for our safety and provision. Our government and economy are headed up by "locusts," who "early on, they're all at your service, full of smiles and promises. But later when you return with questions or complaints, you'll find that they've flown off and are nowhere to be found."

Seriously, I believe that anyone who sees government officials and economic leaders as anything else is totally deluded.



Father, help us see the truth of the passage at hand. Help us to rely completely on you for our safety and provision. Jesus gives us adequate argument to know that you will provide for us, better than the lilies of the field and the birds of the air. Someday, this economic system will fail miserably. Someday, this government system will fall. Those who rely on it will fall with it. But those of us who rely on you will stand, even if we stand in prison for our beliefs. Our hope is in you, O God, and you alone!


I know this all sounds kind of harsh and cynical, but imagine ("Picture, if you will") living in this country after the economy and the government have fallen completely apart. What will it be like? What will it be like if we are relying on God instead of men? If we rely on our heavenly Father, we have no reason to fear.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com