Patient Power
2008-06-21

It's officially summer, I guess. Ok. Let's get it over with. Remember, I live in Texas. Summer is brutal here. Not like Las Vegas, mind you, where it regularly hits 110. But still...it's relentless. Makes our upcoming vacation to Boston that much more appealing.


Psalm for today: Psalm 37:21-40

The steps of a man are established by the LORD,
when he delights in his way;
though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong,
for the LORD upholds his hand.
Verses 23-24

I love these verses, because I seem to fall a lot. But God is always right there, to keep me from being "cast headlong."



Day 184

Nahum 1:1-6

There are some interesting phrases in this passage, that once again, addresses the situation of Nineveh. At this point, I haven't researched if Nahum came before or after Jonah.

"But GOD doesn't lose his temper.
He's powerful, but it's a patient power.
Still no one gets by with anything.
Sooner or later, everyone pays."

Patient power.

What does power mean to you? Is it negative or positive? When I think of power, my brain that is tainted with hours of MMORPG playing envisions a mighty warrior who has almost supernatural abilities. Power can be both positive and negative. A warrior might use his power to protect or avenge the people to whom he has sworn allegiance. Someone who has an evil tendency, though, could certainly use power for bad results. I can't say that I favor one way of thinking over the other. I guess I've seen too many movies.

However, in terms of God, I see power as only positive. God never uses his power for evil. It is totally against his nature, and he will not go against his own nature. But to think of that power as "patient power," that brings an entirely different aspect to it. That is the way I define the concept of "meekness." Meekness is not the same thing as weakness. But, on the other hand, I don't think God could exactly be defined as "meek," either. He doesn't have to be. But he hold back and doesn't always use that power. He waits. Patiently.

Think about it, though. If God were impatient, we would all have been destroyed a long time ago. He would have been done with us. Probably before Noah. So, then, it is kind of important that God is patient. Someday, though, his patience will end. As the following verse said, "Sooner or later, everyone pays."

That is actually a rather frightening thought. Not because I'm afraid of the cost. My payment has been made by Jesus Christ. I don't have to worry about that. It's frightening to think what this world will look like when his patience comes to an end.

Who can face such towering anger?
Who can stand up to this fierce rage?
His anger spills out like a river of lava,
his fury shatters boulders.



Father, I thank you for your patience. And I bow in awesome worship to you. I am humbled by your patience with me, and others like me. Your power could destroy me. Were it not for the blood of Christ, I would live in fear of your wrath. It is only through his blood that I can experience your patience. Millions of people aren't even aware of your patience and that their lives are hanging by a thread over a dark and deep chasm.

I trust you. I trust you enough to live my life daily, without fear of what may happen. I trust you enough to believe that you work all things out for our good. I also trust you enough to let you decide what is "good."



Rest, today, in the knowledge that our God is both powerful and patient. Worship him this weekend.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com