Noticing the Needy
2008-03-12

Soo...the next time I do this (tomorrow afternoon...), I will be 50. Egad.


Psalms for today: 12, 42, 72, 102, 132
Give the king your justice, O God, and your righteousness to the royal son!
May he judge your people with righteousness, and your poor with justice!
Let the mountains bear prosperity for the people, and hills, in righteousness!
May he defend the cause of the poor of the people, give deliverance to the children of the needy, and crush the oppressor!--Psalm 72:1-4

This is one of the few of the Psalms that was, apparently, written by Solomon. And it's a little different. Note that it is a prayer for the king, which would, of course, be Solomon. I included this one today, because I believe it to be a good prayer for our nation. I know we don't have a "king," but we do have leaders, and we will soon have a new president. And, depending on who is elected, we could very well have a "queen," soon. Hehehe...Just kidding, boys and girls.

Sort of.


Day 111

Proverbs 29:7,13-14,23,27

What does God ask of me regarding the poor? First of all, to understand what it is like to be poor. I've never been "living-under-a-bridge" poor or anywhere close to that. But I've been around a lot of people who have almost been that way, and I've been through times in my life where we lived from Friday to Friday with nothing extra. But God wants me to be understanding of the condition of the poor.

God also wants the "voiceless poor" to be treated fairly. This would be those who have no means of speaking out for themselves, or their voices are not valued enough to be heeded. These people, God expects those of us who are his children to treat fairly.

God expects humility from me. Dang. He's always asking for that. Seriously, though...verse 23, "Pride lands you flat on your face; humility prepares you for honors."



Father, help me to have more understanding about the plight of the poor and needy. Help me to make choices in life that somehow can provide benefits for those who are the "voiceless poor."

I realize that I can't always have a direct effect on someone's condition, but there are things I can do that can indirectly have positive impact on the poor of our society. Help me to find those things.


I've gotta go...Steph is pitching a huge fit. Pray for me.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com