Word To the Wise
2008-03-11

Argh. Once again I've fiddled around and don't have enough time to do this justice...I hate when I do that.


Psalms for today: 11, 41, 71, 101, 131

Be to me a rock of refuge, to which I may continually come;
you have given the command to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress.--Psalm 71:3

I really love how the Psalms are full of verses like this that describe our God as a rock and a fortress. Stability is important and no one is more stable than God.


Day 110

Proverbse 28:4-12

The devotional writer describes this passage as a "machine-gun-into-the-sky" chapter, because the wisdom is kind of scattered as far as subject matter goes. I kind of like that description.

I'm asked to pick out two verses that speak to me. One is verse 9. Peterson's translation goes like this: "God has no use for the prayers of the people who won't listen to him." That's really sobering. If we expect him to hear us, we'd better be paying attention to what he is saying.

The other is verse 5: "Justice makes no sense to the evilminded; those who seek God know it inside and out." That is so very true. But it goes kind of backwards, too. If justice doesn't make sense to you, then perhaps your state of mind is questionable. I seek God. I hope to understand justice.

Holy Spirit, help me to be more like Christ and to embrace the "machine-gun" proverbs written here today.



Ok...gotta go watch some "donkey basketball."

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com