Dollars and Cents
2008-03-09

Ugh. I hate daylight savings time. It's sooo pointless.


Psalms for today: 9, 39, 69, 99, 129

But as for me, my prayer is to you, O LORD.
At an acceptable time, O God, in the abundance of your steadfast love answer me in your saving faithfulness.
Deliver me from sinking in the mire;
let me be delivered from my enemies and from the deep waters.
Let not the flood sweep over me, or the deep swallow me up, or the pit close its mouth over me.--Psalm 69:13-15



Day 108

Proverbs 22:22-23,26-27;23:4-8

This passage is about dealing with the poor, mortgaging your house on a "lucky chance," and accepting gifts from cheapskates.

But it's more than just about "dollars and cents," it's about where the heart is. What is my heart attached to?

If I think back on purchases made during the last week, I actually feel no guilt about any of them. I don't buy things because of status or anything like that. I do some impulse spending sometimes, but not lately. The only possible guilt-inducing spending would be when I buy food that isn't good for me, which happens a lot.

I guess there would always be wiser ways to spend my money, but I don't feel as though I have been frivolous with anything. And, we are faithful to give God a share each week.



Father, I ask you to help me be a wise steward of the resources you have given me/us. That's not just money. You have given us everything that we have, from jobs that pay us well, to automobiles, a house, down to the computers and other entertainment devices in our house. We have nothing that you haven't given us. Thank you for all of these blessings.


It would be wise, though, when pulling out the wallet to buy something, to ask, "Will this purchase be a wise one, and will it honor God?"

Is a diet cherry-vanilla Dr. Pepper God honoring? I hope so, because I have one every day... Heh...

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com