Wait For God
2008-03-08

Psalms for today: 8, 38, 68, 98, 128
Sing to God, sing praises to his name;
lift up a song to him who rides through the deserts;
his name is the LORD;
exult before him!
Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation.
God settles the solitary in a home;
he leads out the prisoners to prosperity,
but the rebellious dwell in a parched land.--Psalm 68:4-6



Here's a brief quote on holiness from Tabletalk magazine. "Holiness, then, is not merely obeying a list of rules, but a lifestyle of being increasingly conformed to Jesus Christ in a life of obedience."


Day 107

Proverbs 20:22-30

One verse in this list of statements and instructions stands out to me. Verse 24 says, "The very steps we take come from GOD; otherwise how would we know where we're going?"

Hehe...good question. And I suppose the antithesis to that is that if we don't know where we are going, we aren't paying attention to God's leadership.

The verse stands out to me because I take great comfort in knowing that God is in charge of things. I don't want to be in charge. Even in my recreational life...I don't want to be team captain. I don't want to be group leader in World of Warcraft. No. Take it away.

I like knowing God is in charge. If I follow in his footsteps, I will always know where I'm going. No, wait...I take that back. God does not always reveal where we are going. But if I'm following in his steps, I at least know I'm going in the right direction, even if I don't know the destination.



Father, I thank you that I can have confidence in knowing that if I follow you, I will always be in the right place. Forgive me for those times when I don't follow and I wind up in a very wrong place. Then help me find my way out of those wrong places.


That's it for today...

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com