A Safe Place To Hide
2008-02-10

Trying to get ready for church this morning. Kind of foggy in my head. And for some reason, I have a song lodged in my brain. It's the Leonard Cohen song "Hallelujah," but it's the version by Jeff Buckley. Such a beautiful rendition.


Psalms for today: 10, 40, 70, 100, 130

From Psalm 40...

1 I waited patiently for the LORD;
he inclined to me and heard my cry.
2 He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.
3 He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the LORD.



Day 80

Psalm 46

There are a lot of words and phrases in this passage that speak of safety and security in God. Of course, I believe that is the only place we can find safety and security.

Strangely, I really can't think of a time in my life when I didn't feel "safe." Oh, sure, there have been a moment or two, here and there, but in terms of over-all sense of safety, I've always felt safe. All my life. I think it's because I've always, in the deepest part of my heart, trusted God. I trust God to take care of me and protect me, and whatever happens to me happens because he ordained it, and so be it.

The psalmist repeats this particular set three times:

Jacob-wrestling God figts for us,
God-of-Angel-Armies protects us.

How much more security do you need?? Heh. In the words of the Emperor Joseph in "Amadeus," "Well...there it is."

I also like this line from verse 10.

Step out of the traffic! Take a long, loving look at me; your High God, above politics, above everything.

YES!! Our God is so far above the morass of political sewage that we are facing in this country right now!! Hallelujah! He is far, far above everything that we can experience.

I ask you, Father, to release me from any thoughts that might cause anxiety or stress. Anything that is happening in our lives right now, just let it happen and give us the sense of safety and security that is promised in this psalm. We rest in you.

I will live in the safety of God today.

Grace and peace, y'all. And safety, too!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com