Celebrating God
2008-02-09

I'm not completely sure what God is doing right now, but I'll stick with him to find out. There's a strong possibility that it could be a really fun ride.


Psalms for today: 9, 39, 69, 99, 129

From Psalm 39...

4 O LORD, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days;
let me know how fleeting I am!
5 Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths,
and my lifetime is as nothing before you.
Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath!
6 Surely a man goes about as a shadow!
Surely for nothing they are in turmoil;
man heaps up wealth and does not know who will gather!
7 And now, O Lord, for what do I wait?
My hope is in you.
8 Deliver me from all my transgressions.
Do not make me the scorn of the fool!
9 I am mute; I do not open my mouth,
for it is you who have done it.
10 Remove your stroke from me;
I am spent by the hostility of your hand.
11 When you discipline a man with rebukes for sin,
you consume like a moth what is dear to him;
surely all mankind is a mere breath!

This is one of the things I love about the psalms. This one is so brutally honest. David doesn't pull any punches when it comes to letting the emotion flow out of his pen. Heh. And people think that someone modern invented "emo."


Day 79

Psalm 34

I picture the psalmist standing with arms stretched towards heaven as he speaks the words in this psalm. I mimic his posture as I speak my own words in response:

I will praise you, Father, every chance I get. Fill up my lungs with your praise.

You, O LORD, are my very life and breath; let me be an inspiration to those around me.

Let me join with others in spreading the news, the Good News.

You have gone above and beyond to save me. My fears and anxieties are disappearing, one by one.

I will never hide my feelings from you, ever. I will shout out to you everything that I feel, every emotion I am experiencing.

You, O LORD, delivered me from the situations that I got myself into. Pulled me out of pits that I dug myself.

Your angel protects me, circled about me, especially when I stop to pray.

I have tasted. O my God, I have tasted and you, YOU ARE GOOD!! Give me an insatiable thirst for you! Let me run to you and be blessed!

I will worship you; worship you constantly. My life will be worship, and doors will be opened because of it. I will see your goodness. Show your goodness to all who suffer, who feel downtrodden.

Sometime today, I will find a place where I can observe small parts of nature and simply bask in God's goodness.

Grace and peace!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com