Thirsting For Justice
2008-01-29

Psalms for today: 29, 59, 89, 149 (Note: Skipping Psalm 119 until Thursday, the 31st.)
Ascribe to the LORD, O heavenly beings, ascribe to the LORD glory and strength.
Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name;
worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness.--Psalm 29:1-2

I like that line that says "ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name." We owe him this worship. His name demands it. It is due him. How much better it is for those of us who worship him willingly, as opposed to those who will be forced to there knees in the scenario described in Philippians 2:10.


Day 68

read

Job 24:1-10

This passage is kind of a downer; a treatise on the massive injustice that the speaker sees around him. Let me look at the expanded passage to see who is speaking here. Ok. This is Job talking, beginning with chapter 23. He's wondering where God is in all of the situations listed.

thing

Phrases that I'm noting:
--people...getting by with murder
--rip off the poor...exploit the unfortunate
--push the helpless into the ditch
--the poor...sort through the garbage of the rich
--no place to lay their heads
--infants of the poor are kidnapped and sold
--even the hard workers go hungry

Why do these phrases touch you?

They are so depictive of the many injustices that are going on in our world today. It seems that things haven't changed a whole lot since Job's day, have they?

What is the heart of God like for these situations?

Some would say that he doesn't care because he continues to allow them to happen. I say that's not true. I believe he expects his people to help as much as they can. We have many instances where we are told that God cares for "widows and orphans." We are told that "true religion" is taking care of these.

I don't believe that God expects us to try to rid the world of evil. That's not our job. That's why I've never agreed with demonstrations outside of abortion clinics and things like that that have so much potential to turn violent. Anytime Christians do violence (except when God commanded the children of Israel to anihilate the inhabitants of Canaan), it does damage to the name of Christ in the eyes of the world.

But God does expect us to care for those who are less fortunate than we are. And you don't have to be filthy rich to have people less fortunate than you. Again, I point to Jesus's example of the widow's mite. You only have to make available whatever you have, and God can use it mightily. "Little is much when God is in it."

God's promise in Isaiah 51:5 sheds some light, though on his timing...

My deliverance arrives on the run, my salvation right on time.
I'll bring justice to the peoples.
Even faraway islands will look to me and take hope in my saving power.

There you have it. I love Peterson's translation here..."My deliverance arrives on the run..."

My heart responds with a resounding, "YES!! AMEN!!" I get a picture of the "people out there getting by with murder" getting justice doled out on them so fast their heads are spinning.

There will be justice. But it will be in God's time, not ours.

pray

I will continue to pray, though for God to intervene in situations that appear to be injust. Notice: I will pray for God to intervene. I will not attempt to intervene, myself. Not unless I get such clear word from God that there is absolutely no doubt. The author suggests looking at a newspaper or watching a newscast. This reminds me of a radio station that I used to listen to years ago. The morning dj would take the front page of the newspaper every morning and make it his prayer list. That was kind of cool.

live

He simply suggests holding up a representation of the world while praying for God's light to permeate our world.

Pray for the world around you. Be aware of things that are going on. And then simply pray for God to work.

Grace and peace to you!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com