Empty Comfort
2008-01-28

First of all, before anything else, I lift up my friends onlygrace and silverluna in prayer. Father, "onlygrace" is feeling sick today, and "silverluna" has been struggling with relationships. May your might touch be on both of them this week. I pray that relationships are healed and strengthened where they need to be. Let you will for them be crystal clear. I also pray for physical healing so that classes can be attended. Your grace is amazing, Lord. Thank you for your might work in these lives!


Psalms for today: 28, 58, 88, 118, 148

To you, O LORD, I call; my rock, be not deaf to me, lest, if you be silent to me, I become like those who go down to the pit.
Hear the voice of my pleas for mercy, when I cry to you for help, when I lift up my hands toward your most holy sanctuary.

The LORD is the strength of his people; he is the saving refuge of his anointed.
Oh, save your people and bless your heritage!
Be their shepherd and carry them forever.--Psalm 28:1-2,8-9




Day 67

read

Job 22:1-11

Eliphaz pipes up again, with more "comfort." As I read this passage, I'm considering what might have been comfort to Job and what might have left more him more hurting.

Eliphaz's diatribe here could hardly be considered comforting. It is, rather, a kind of admonition against Job and all of his alleged moral failures. Again, I say that what Job needed more than anything was a friend to just sit with him and not expend so much energy trying to figure out why this was all happening.

think

There have definitely been times in my life when I wished people wouldn't give me "advice." And when I hear people spouting off "Christian cliches" to hurting people, it makes me want to barf. Seriously. Hurting people need sincere support and people to stand beside them, not thoughtless regurgitated cliche phrases.
Job's "friends" aren't offering comfort, but are, instead trying to make him feel guilty for things he wasn't guilty of. Trying to convince him of social injustices.
I interact with several people on a regular basis who are hurting spiritually and emotionally and have family members who are hurting physically. It's hard to know what to say. Just this morning, I was talking to a co-worker whose husband has just had his entire larynx removed due to cancer.
I told her I didn't really know what to say, and that I was sorry if I seemed awkward sometimes. I'm trying to be encouraging, and just listening to what she has to say about the situation. Finally, I just told her I loved her and hugged her. She said, sincerely, that that really means a lot. We've worked together for over 12 years, and it really hurts me to see her in this pain.

pray

I pray for this co-worker, as well as another whose wife recently had a tube put in a lung to drain fluid. Both are experiencing some frightening times in their lives. Father, help me know how to minister to these people in your name.

live

Finally, these instructions...

Consider a friend or acquaintance who needs comfort. Prayerfully approach the suffering individual, asking God to use you as a healing agent of comfort and hope. Also ask God to keep you from being someone who merely offers trite words that fall short.

I think that is excellent advice for any of us. Consider doing the same, if you have read this.

God be with you!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com