An Unqualified Yes
2007-11-05

Joshua 24:16-24

READ

Read the passage, paying special attention to what it shows you about the nature of the human heart.

Now that's scary. The first thing that pops out is the declaration that the people make.

We'd never forsake GOD! Never! We'd never leave GOD to worship other Gods!

Uh-huh. We should always be careful when we are inclined to make definitive statements like that.

They did speak truth in the next few verses. They talk about all the signs and wonders that they saw God do. And they did see them. Which, in a way, makes our faith even more valuable, because we believe in these things while only reading about them, having never seen them.

Joshua set them straight, though. "You can't do it," he told them. Very blunt. "You're not able to worship GOD."

It's true. We can't do it. So why try?

Because, we aren't alone in our efforts. God has placed within us something very valuable and helpful in our journey. He's given us the Holy Spirit. With him, we can worship God. With him, we can even live for God. Sadly, our flesh gets in the way all too frequently, but we can still accomplish things that we cannot accomplish with him.

PRAY

What is my reaction to the Israelites and their claims?

I'm not that hard on them. I realize they are human, just as I am human. It also asks if I can relate to them at all. Heck, yeah! Absolutely! I shudder to think of the number of times that I have declared that I was going to follow Christ completely, unwavering. Never going to sin again!

Hahahaha....yeah, right. I know better, now, than to make foolish statements like that. Instead, I just try to hold my heart out to him daily, trying to stay on this path of righteousness, failing often. But HE is faithful. He is good. All the time.

THINK/LIVE

As I reflect and talk to God about my feelings, I feel him leading more than challenging. I don't believe I'm up to challenges at the moment. But I feel his hand gently leading me, drawing me closer to him. Not to make silly claims that I have no way of living up to, but to do just what I said earlier. To hold my heart out to him. Daily. Minute by minute.


On a side note, my wife is having surgery tomorrow. If you read this, please pray for her. There are more details in my other diary, which you can access from my profile, I think.

Grace and peace.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com