Great Are You, Lord!
2010-08-06

Taking some time out of my busy day to spend a little time with God.

(Okay. That was sarcasm...not really very busy, am I?) But, God willing, I will be soon. Nevertheless, I just had a thought. Perhaps next week I will take the majority of one day and spend it in prayer/devotion/Bible reading. Wonder what effect that would have on my life? If I had been doing that from the beginning of my jobless period, I wonder if I would have a job by now?

What if....

What if....

I don't live like that, though. I can't live my life in the "what if..." We tend to waste too much time in the "what if..." and the "if only..." I choose to live my life right now and look toward the future, which is 100% in God's hands.

Anyway. Back to today's thing.



The Valley of Vision
LOVE LUSTRES AT CALVARY

My Father,

Enlarge my heart, warm my affections, open my lips,
supply words that proclaim "Love lustres at Calvary."
There grace removes my burdens and heaps them on your Son,
made a transgressor, a curse, and sin for me;
There the sword of your justice smote the man, your fellow;
There your infinite attributes were magnified, and infinite atonement was made;
There infinite punishment was due,
and infinite punishment was endured.
Christ was all anguish that I might be all joy,
cast off that I might be brought in,
trodden down as an enemy
that I might be welcomed as a friend,
surrendered to hell's worst
that I might attain heaven's best,
stripped that I might be clothed,
wounded that I might be healed,
athirst that I might drink,
tormented that I might be comforted,
made a shame that I might inherit glory,
entered darkness that I might have eternal light.
My Savior wept that all tears might be wiped from my eyes,
groaned that I might have endless song,
endured all pain that I might have unfading health,
bore a thorny crown that I might have a glory-diadem,
bowed his head that I might uplift mine,
experienced reproach that I might receive welcome,
closed his eyes in death that I might gaze on unclouded brightness,
expired that I might for ever live.
O Father, who spared not your only Son that you might spare me,
All this transfer your love designed and accomplished;
Help me to adore you by lips and life.
O that my every breath might be ecstatic praise,
my every step buoyant with delight, as I see my enemies crushed,
Satan baffled, defeated, destroyed,
sin buried in the ocean of reconciling blood,
hell's gates closed, heaven's portal open.
Go forth, O conquering God, and show me the cross, might to subdue, comfort and save.

Such a great work our Savior did for us on the cross! Such a great God to orchestrate such a thing!



A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen
PSALM 92:1-7

1 A Psalm. A Song for the Sabbath. It is good to give thanks to the LORD, to sing praises to your name, O Most High;
2 to declare your steadfast love in the morning, and your faithfulness by night,
3 to the music of the lute and the harp, to the melody of the lyre.
4 For you, O LORD, have made me glad by your work; at the works of your hands I sing for joy.
5 How great are your works, O LORD! Your thoughts are very deep!
6 The stupid man cannot know; the fool cannot understand this:
7 that though the wicked sprout like grass and all evildoers flourish, they are doomed to destruction forever;

I'll start off by wondering how on earth anyone can read a Psalm like this and think that Jesus doesn't want us to praise him with instruments, just because they aren't mentioned in the New Testament. In the words of Mr. Wyrtzen, "This psalm is music to a musician's ears!"

It is GOOD to sing praises to the Lord! It is excellent for me to praise him with stringed instruments, both day and night!

"What motivates me to praise is the impact of the Lord's works - not only His acts in history but also His personal supernatural work in my life." And I have seen plenty of those. "His thoughts are infinite and astonishing." THIS is cause for singing and playing and dancing.

Hallelujah!




Matthew Henry Daily Readings
PSALM 23:6

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

"The greatest abundance is but a dry pasture to a wicked man, who relishes in it only what pleases the senses; but to a godly man, who by faith tastes the goodness of God in all his enjoyments, though he has but little of the world, it is a green pasture. The Lord gives quiet and contentment in the mind, whatever the lot is. Are we blessed with the green pastures of the ordinances, let us not think it enough to pass through them, but let us abide in them. The consolations of the Holy Spirit are the still waters by which the saints are led; the streams which flow from the Fountain of living waters. Those only are led by the still waters of comfort that walk in the paths of righteousness. The way of duty is the truly pleasant way, and the work of righteousness is peace. In these paths we cannot walk, unless God lead us into them, and lead us on in them. Discontent and distrust proceed from unbelief; an unsteady walk is the consequence: let us then simply trust our Shepherd's care, and hearken to his voice."



O, Lord, let us be content! Help me be content with what you have given me! You have placed me where I am for a reason and that reason is yours and yours alone. Who am I to question? Shall the pot say to the potter, "Why have you made me like this??" No, I shall not. I shall embrace who I am and where you have placed me. This is my lot in life and I shall be satisfied with it.

Let me simply trust in your care and listen to your voice! And I shall praise you with all my voice, all my breath, and all my talent. I will used every instrument at my disposal to lift up your name to the nations. I cannot praise you enough. Let me sing and dance and praise until I cannot do it any more. And then take me home to where I will do those things for all eternity.

Enlarge my heart, warm my affections, and open my lips. Let words of praise always come out of them. I'm tired of being negative, Lord! I'm tired of complaining. I'm tired of finding things wrong. Let me see only you and praise only you!



Prayers from the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR OUR CONGRESSIONAL LEADERS

The Senate bill providing $26 billion to help states and local school boards with their severe budget problems appears
ready for passage, after which it will go back to the House of Representatives, and then on to the President.

Several Senators are urging consideration of changing the 14th Amendment which gives the children of illegal
immigrants a right to U.S. citizenship, and are pushing for hearings to include expert testimony.

Both Houses will soon be in August recess. Pray for the safety of our leaders as they travel and speak.



Great are you Lord, and worthy of glory! It is GOOD to give thanks and praise to the Lord! Try to find something to be thankful for today.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com